Annual Event 2024

Celebrating Legal Aid at Work’s 108th Anniversary  

Thank you to our guests who turned out in support of Justice on the Job, our annual event held on June 24 at the Four Seasons San Francisco, as well as to those who were unable to attend.

We had a wonderful evening complete with excellent hors d’oeuvres, fine wine and craft beer, a live jazz band that set a festive tone and a room full of spirited supporters and friends.

And it was capped by an exceptional program-which included a powerful address by our distinguished guest Michele Goodwin, engaging remarks by our Mathew O. Tobriner Service Award presenter Lateefah Simon, an inspiring acceptance speech by the Awardee Marlene Sanchez and highlights of our organization’s meaningful work passionately delivered by our colleague DeCarol Davis. Together they created an unvarnished snapshot of where our nation is today in our ongoing struggle for equity, the dignity of work, and the rule of law and by implication how far we must travel to achieve our vision of a just society.

Questions? Please contact Steve Heimerle at or 415-593-0138

Keynote Speaker

Michele Goodwin
Georgetown University Law Center

Michele Bratcher Goodwin is the Linda D. & Timothy J. O’Neill Professor of Constitutional Law and Co-Faculty Director of the O’Neill Institute for National and Global Health Law at Georgetown University Law Center. She has a broad range of interests in the spheres of cultural politics, civil liberties, and human rights, and is recognized as a leading expert on the regulation of medicine, science, and biotechnology. We were delighted that Professor Goodwin — a leading scholar, prolific author, passionate advocate, and forceful public commentator across media platforms, including guest appearances on MSNBC, was in our company.

Mathew O. Tobriner
Public Service Award

Marlene Sanchez
Ella Baker Center for Human Rights

The Mathew O. Tobriner Public Service Award was given to proud San Francisco Native, Chicana, movement leader, organizer, and formerly incarcerated woman, Marlene Sanchez. Her work at the Young Women’s Freedom Center, Communities United for Restorative Youth Justice (CURYJ), Alliance for Girls, All of Us or None (AOUON); and Ella Baker empowered and supported many vulnerable people. In particular, Marlene has advocated for the rights of the formerly incarcerated, women, and girls.

The award was presented by Lateefah Simon, President of Meadow Fund.

Thank You to Our Sponsors and Donors


Lieff Cabraser Heimann & Bernstein Attorneys at Law Logo


Cooley LLP Logo


Latham & Watkins LLP Logo

White & Case LLP 

Willkie Farr & Gallagher LLP


Coblentz Patch Duffy & Bass LLP

Crowell & Moring LLP

Debevoise & Plimpton LLP

Farella Braun + Martel LLP

Hemming Morse, LLP

Jones Clifford, LLP

Munger, Tolles & Olson LLP

O’Melveny & Myers LLP

Outten & Golden LLP

Hunter Pyle Law

Bryan Schwartz Law, P.C.

Sidley Austin LLP

Troutman Pepper Hamilton Sanders LLP

Walkup, Melodia, Kelly & Schoenberger


Alexander Morrison + Fehr, LLP

Allred Maroko & Goldberg

Altshuler Berzon LLP

Andrus Anderson LLP

Folger Levin LLP

Fox Rothschild LLP

Friedman & Springwater LLP


Jenner & Block LLP

Katz Banks Kumin LLP

Kazan McClain Partners’ Foundation

King & Spalding LLP

Liberation Law Group, P.C.

Lichten & Liss-Riordan, P.C.

Marsili Mediation

McGuireWoods LLP

Minami Tamaki LLP


Mora Employment Law

Nichols Kaster, PLLP

Nichols Law P.C.

Olivier & Schreiber LLP

Orrick, Herrington & Sutcliffe LLP  

Joshua and Jennifer Peck

Julie M. Riewe

Rosen Bien Galvan & Grunfeld LLP

Schneider Wallace Cottrell Konecky LLP

Kristin and Douglas Snyder

Trucker Huss, APC

The Villegas Law Firm, APC

Vinson & Elkins LLP

Weil, Gotshal & Manges LLP

Zelle LLP


A & R Advisory Services LLC

Beneficial State Bank

Cohelan Khoury & Singer

Bob and Ruth Dell

Feinberg, Jackson, Worthman & Wasow LLP

Christopher T. Heffelfinger

Kaufmann & Gropman LLP 

Patrick and Gwen Mahoney

Louise M. McCabe and Donald T. Gray

Neyhart, Anderson, Flynn & Grosboll

Law Offices of Jeremy Pasternak

Roberts Disability Law, P.C.

Beth Ross and Laura Trupin

The Sampath Law Firm

Shartsis Friese LLP


Galen Arkush Ages

Beeson, Tayer & Bodine, APC & Dale L. Brodsky

Ella Baker Center for Human Rights, In honor of Marlene Sanchez

Engineers & Scientists of California Local 20


Scott Fink and Kathy Klein

Ellen A. Friedman

Goldstein, Borgen, Dardarian & Ho

Joan M. Graff

William N. Hebert and Lori A. Schechter, In Honor of Joan Graff

Impact Fund

Natasha Innocenti

Samuel R. Miller and Maude Pervere

Shute, Mihaly & Weinberger LLP


The Honorable Thomas F. Smegal, Jr. (Ret.)

The Honorable John M. True, III (Ret.)

Law Office of Jeannette A. Vaccaro

Valerian Law, P.C.

Lenard G. Weiss

Ling Yuan

Legal Aid at Work Development Committee

Christopher T. Micheletti, Zelle LLP, Co-Chair

Joshua Peck, Sixth Street, Co-Chair

Jennie Lee Anderson, Andrus Anderson LLP

Aelish M. Baig, Robbins Geller Rudman & Dowd LLP

Sara B. Brody, Sidley Austin LLP

Michael B. Dell, Shartsis Friese LLP

Nicholas D. Fram, Munger Tolles & Olson LLP

William N. Hebert

Christopher T. Heffelfinger, Berman Tabacco

Matthew S. Kahn, Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher LLP

Hilary C. Krase, Farella Braun + Martel LLP

Laura K. Lin, Simpson Thacher & Bartlett LLP

Allison B. Moser, Coblentz Patch Duffy & Bass LLP

John Mullan, Rudy, Exelrod, Zieff & Lowe, LLP

Jahan C. Sagafi, Outten & Golden LLP

Dylan G. Savage, Wilson Sonsini Goodrich & Rosati

Eric C. Wiener, Morrison & Foerster LLP