短期及长期残障保险计划和津贴

    什么是SDI?

    SDI代表的含义是“加州残障保险(State Disability Insurance)”。SDI是当因为心理或生理上状况而无法从事您通常的工作的时候给您提供部分薪水补偿的现金福利。SDI是一项加州的计划。它由EDD (“Employment Development Department” 失业局)管理。请参阅我们的题为《加州残障保险》的事实说明书以获得更多信息。

    什么是“短期残障保险计划”?

    短期残障保险计划指的是当某人因为健康状况而变成残障时,在某一段有限的时间内(通常在六个月到半年之间)为其提供收入补偿的保险计划或福利计划。SDI是一种短期残障福利计划。雇主可以给雇员提供短期残障保险来对SDI所提供的福利加以补充。在典型的短期残障福利中,申请人必须证明他们无法从事他们平常的工作或类似的工作。

    什么是“长期残障保险计划”?

    长期残障保险计划,简称LTD,指的是一种私营的保险计划,当一个工人因为身体或者精神上的受伤或者疾病的影响而不能工作,而这些健康问题是在保险计划的涵盖范围内的话,保险计划会为这些工人提供长期的部分薪水补偿。雇主有可能为工人提供长期残障保险。典型的LTD计划在SDI或其它的短期残障福利用完之后支付津贴。通常,寻求得到LTD津贴的申请人必须证明他们无法做原来的工作或其它的工作。如果你不确定雇主有没有提供LTD的话,你可以问公司的人事部。

    许多LTD计划要求您同时也申请SSDI。您所得到的付款金额是一样的(差别是这笔钱将会即来自于LTD计划也来自于SSDI,而不是仅仅来自于LTD计划)。

    什么是SSI?

    SSI是“补充性安全收入(Supplementary Security Income)”的缩写。SSI是一项联邦(美国)计划。它由一个叫做社会安全管理局 (SSA) 的政府机关对其加以管理。SSI为那些因为持续了一年的残障或预期会持续一年的残障而无法从事他们以前所从事工作(如果有任何工作的话)或任何其它的工作的低收入成年人提供的金钱福利。

    SSI也可以提供给某些有残障的儿童(取决于其父母的收入)以及提供给超过65岁的低收入者,尽管他们没有残障。

    在2018年,在加州的非盲人、单身人士可以得到的最高SSI津贴额为$912.72;盲人可以得到的最高津贴额是$967.23。

    无证人士是否合资格领取SSI?

    不合资格。

    什么是SSDI?

    SSDI所代表的含义是“社会安全残障保险(Social Security Disability Insurance)”,它是另外一项由SSA所管理的联邦计划。SSDI是给那些因为持续了或预期会持续至少一年的残障而无法从事他们以前的工作或任何其它的工作,并且在成为残疾无法工作之前的十年之内已经赚取了一定数额金钱的人所提供的金钱津贴。(有些其他的在22岁之前成为残障的成年人根据其父母的社会安全收入记录会有资格得到SSDI)。与SSI不同,您并非一定要是低收入人士才可以得到SSDI福利。

    从SSDI中所得到的津贴额因人而异,这要取决于您在工作时所赚取的钱有多少。一般来说,SSDI的津贴额要高于SSI的金额。如果您的SSDI津贴额很少,您可能还有资格得到SSI而从两个计划中同时得到津贴。

    无证人士是否合资格领取SSDI?

    不合资格。

    我从哪里开始?

    如果您有近期工作的历史(如果您有在过去18个月内工作)而且您因为某种生理或心理的损害而停止了工作或停止了找工作,那么您应当与EDD联系询问SDI。请参阅我们的题为《加州残障保险:您的合法权益》的事实说明书以获得更多有关SDI的资格信息,如果有问题请给我们打电话。

    您还应当与您现在的雇主或最后一个雇主联系去查一下您是否被含盖在任何短期或长期残障保险计划中。这些福利计划可能会有严格的最后期限。如果您需要更多的法律援助以帮助您申请短期或长期残障福利,或者是帮助您对遭到拒绝的福利申请提出上诉,请与您本地的律师协会联系或请他们推荐律师。如果您的福利计划是由私营雇主提供的,您可能需要一位专长处理一种称作ERISA法律的律师。

    如果您成为残障而无法从事那些您接受了最低教育或培训而可以做的大部分或所有的工作,您也许应当向SSA申请得到联邦残障福利。如果您有工作过,您可以申请SSDI。如果您是低收入人士,您可以申请SSI。如果您申请了SSDI但被判定不合资格,SSA会自动考虑您是否可以得到SSI。

    在www.ssa.gov/disability网站上可以看到更多有关申请社会安全残障福利的信息,或者致电给SSA:1-800-772-1213。如果您需要帮助申请津贴或为您被拒绝的申请上诉,请给您本地的法律援助会办公室打电话,或给我们打电话请我们推荐人给您:1-877-350-5441。

    还有更多问题吗?请参阅我们其它的事实说明书以获得更多信息,或给我们打电话求助1-877-350-5441。您也可以给我们email: disability@legalaidatwork.org。

免责声明

This Fact Sheet is intended to provide accurate, general information regarding legal rights relating to employment in California. Yet because laws and legal procedures are subject to frequent change and differing interpretations, the Legal Aid Society–Employment Law Center cannot ensure the information in this Fact Sheet is current nor be responsible for any use to which it is put. Do not rely on this information without consulting an attorney or the appropriate agency about your rights in your particular situation.

Short-Term and Long-Term Disability Insurance Plans and Benefit Programs: An Introduction

    What is SDI?

    SDI stands for “State Disability Insurance.”  SDI is a cash benefit that provides partial income replacement for up to twelve months when you become unable to do your usual work due to mental or physical injuries, illnesses, and other health conditions. SDI is a California program administered by the EDD (“Employment Development Department”).  See our fact sheet entitled “State Disability Insurance (‘SDI’): Your Legal Rights” for more information.

    What is “short-term disability insurance”?

    Short-term disability (“STD”) generally refers to a private insurance plan that provides income replacement for a finite period of time (usually between six months and one year) when a person becomes disabled from working due to mental or physical injuries, illnesses, and other health conditions covered by the plan. Your employer may provide employees with short-term disability insurance to supplement the benefits provided by SDI.  Under a typical short-term disability plan, a claimant must show that they are unable to perform their regular job or a similar job. If you are not sure whether your employer provides short –term disability coverage, contact your HR department.

    What is “long-term disability insurance”?

    Long-term disability insurance (“LTD”) generally refers to a private insurance plan that provides partial income replacement for an extended period of time when a person becomes disabled from working due to due to mental or physical injuries, illnesses, and other health conditions covered by the plan. Your employer may provide its employees with long-term disability coverage. A typical LTD plan pays benefits after SDI and/or short-term disability insurance benefits are exhausted. Usually, a person seeking LTD benefits must show that they are unable to do their own job and other jobs. If you are not sure whether your employer provides long-term disability coverage, contact your HR department.
    Many LTD plans require that you also apply for SSDI. You will still receive the same payment amount (the difference is that the money will come from both your LTD plan and your SSDI, rather than coming only from the LTD plan).

    What is SSI?

    SSI is short for “Supplemental Security Income.”  SSI is a federal (U.S.) program administered by an agency called the Social Security Administration (SSA).  SSI is a cash benefit for low-income adults with few resources who are unable to do the work they did previously (if any) or any other job due to a disability that has lasted or is expected to last for at least one year.

    SSI is also available to some children with disabilities (depending on parental income) and to people over 65 who are low-income, even if they do not have a disability.

    In 2018, the maximum SSI benefit that a non-blind, single person in California can receive is $912.72; the maximum benefit for a blind individual is $967.23.

    Am I elegible for SSI benefits if I am undocumented?

    No.

    What is SSDI?

    SSDI stands for “Social Security Disability Insurance,” and is another federal program administered by the SSA.  SSDI is a cash benefit for adults who are unable to do their previous work or any other job due to a disability that has lasted or will last at least one year, and who have earned a certain amount of money within the ten years before becoming disabled from working.  (Adults disabled before age 22 may be eligible for SSDI based on their parent’s Social Security earnings record.)  Unlike SSI, you are not required to be low-income to receive SSDI benefits.

    The amount of cash benefit under SSDI varies depending on how much money you earned when you were working.  In general, SSDI benefit amounts are higher than SSI amounts.  If your SSDI benefit amount is low, you may also qualify for SSI and receive benefits from both programs.

    7. Am I eligible for SSDI benefits if I am undocumented?

    No.

    Where do I start?

    If you have a recent work history (if you have worked within the past 18 months) and you have stopped working or looking for work due to a physical or mental impairment, then you should contact EDD about SDI.  See our fact sheet entitled “State Disability Insurance (SDI): Your Legal Rights” for more eligibility information about SDI, and call us at 1-877-350-5441, or email us at disability@legalaidatwork.org, if you have questions.

    You should also contact your current or most recent employer to find out if you are covered by any short-term or long-term disability insurance plan.  These benefit plans may have strict deadlines.  If you need additional legal aid to help you apply for short-term or long-term disability insurance plan benefits, or to appeal a denial of an application for benefits, contact your local bar association and ask for a referral.  If your benefit plan is offered by a private employer, you may need an attorney who specializes in a law called ERISA.

    If you are disabled from working most or all jobs for which you have the minimum education or training, you may want to apply for federal disability benefits with the SSA.  If you have a work history, you can apply for SSDI.  If you are low-income and have few resources, you can apply for SSI.  If you apply for SSDI but are found not eligible, the SSA will automatically consider you for SSI.

    More information about applying for Social Security disability benefits can be found at www.ssa.gov/disabilityor by calling the SSA at 1-800-772-1213.  If you need help applying for benefits or appealing a denial of your application, call your local legal aid office, or call us at 1-877-350-5441 for a referral.

    More questions? See our other fact sheets for additional information. For additional help, contact us by phone at 1-877-350-5441 or by email at disability@legalaidatwork.org.

DISCLAIMER

This Fact Sheet is intended to provide accurate, general information regarding legal rights relating to employment in California. Yet because laws and legal procedures are subject to frequent change and differing interpretations, the Legal Aid Society–Employment Law Center cannot ensure the information in this Fact Sheet is current nor be responsible for any use to which it is put. Do not rely on this information without consulting an attorney or the appropriate agency about your rights in your particular situation.