将新社会安全号码通知雇主

    我最近收到了一个新的社会安全号码(“SSN”)。我是否可以将新的号码通知雇主?

    是的。  IRS 的W-4表格上写到您应当 “考虑每年以及当您的个人状况或财务状况有所改变时填写一份新的W-4表格” 。实际上在加州,雇员拥有更新自己个人信息的一项受保护的权利。见加州《劳工法》第1024.6条。但是请注意,当您要求在您的W-4表格上更新您的社会安全号码时,雇主可能会要求您填写一份新的I-9表格。在那个时候,您应当就此填一份I-9表格写上您的新社安号以及您的最初受雇的日期。然后你的雇主可以将这份新的I-9表附加在您当初被雇用时所填写的原始I-9表格上。USCIS雇主手册第24页,在以下网站也可看到http://www.uscis.gov/files/form/m-274.pdf

    当我试图更新社会安全号码时,雇主向我要I-9表格要求之外的更多的文件或不同的文件。这是被允许的吗?

    不允许。在更新您的社会安全号码时,您的雇主不可以要求联邦法所要求之外更多的或不同的文件。这样做可能会带有歧视性并构成不公平的与移民有关的雇佣做法。请参阅《美国联邦法》第1324b条;《移民及国籍法》第274B条;《联邦法规汇编》第八章第274A.2 (b)(1)(v); 《加州劳工法》第1019条。

    雇主已经拒绝允许我更新社会安全号码。我应当怎么办?

    如果您住在加州,您应当告知您的雇主您更新自己个人信息的权利。请参阅以下的一封信函范例。这封信解释了更新自己的个人信息是受到加州法律保护的。您可以将此信交给您的雇主。

    雇主因为我更新了社会安全号码就将我开除。我可以做些什么?

    根据《加州劳工法》第1024.6条,如果您更新您的个人信息,您的雇主不可以将您开除、对您加以歧视、报复或针对您采取任何不利行动,除非您做出的改动与工作的技能组合、资质要求、或工作必须的知识有直接的关系。

    下面列出某些受禁止的雇主行为的例子:

    • 将某个试图更新自己社会安全号码的雇员开除
    • 将某个试图将自己的新名字提供给雇主的雇员降职。
    • 将某个试图更新自己工作许可证的雇员暂停工作。

    如果您觉得雇主有做任何以上所描述的事,您可以向劳工标准及执行署(DSLE)提起投诉。如果DLSE判定您的雇主有对您做出此类报复行为,您的雇主可能面临每一次这样的报复事件都罚款$10,000的处罚或者将其营业执照暂停一段时间。欲获得更多有关如何向DLSE提出投诉的信息,请查阅此网站http://www.dir.ca.gov/dlse/HowToFileDiscriminationComplaint.htm.。您的投诉必须在雇主针对您报复之后的六(6)个星期内提出。

    在得到自己的SSN (社会安全号码) 之前从我的薪水中扣除的社会保险金是否可以计入我社会保险的累积分数?

    是的.  这个过程被称作“整理(unscrambling)”。社会安全局(SSA)会允许你更新您的记录并为您在使用不同的SSN期间可能赚取到的收入获得累积积分。SSA可以在这个工程中为您提供帮助。欲获得更多的有关你需要做什么才能更新你记录的信息,请登录以下网站http://www.ssa.gov/pubs/EN-05-10081.pdf

    在社会安全局更新我的收入记录是否会使得我面临刑事指控?

    因为使用并非您本人的社会安全号码(SSN)是非法的,所以不能保证说您使用过不同的社会安全号码您不会面临任何法律后果。但是, 社会安全局(SSA)一般不会起诉(或者报告给检察官)哪些曾经使用过并非其本人的社会安全号码申报收入的人们。

免责声明

这份文件试图为大家提供准确、简明的有关就业方面的加州法律常识。不过,由于法律以及法律程序经常变化以及解释不同,Legal Aid At Work 劳工法律中心不能保证文件的内容是最新的,也不能为内容运用的结果负责。读者不应依赖文件提供的资料。你应该就个人的特殊情况,向律师或者有关机构查询。

Updating Your Social Security Number With Your Employer

    I recently received a new Social Security number (“SSN”). Am I allowed to update it with my employer?

    Yes.  IRS Form W-4 states that you should “consider completing a new Form W-4 each year and when your personal or financial situation changes.”  In fact, in California, employees have a protected right to update their personal information.  See Cal. Lab. Code § 1024.6.  Please be aware, however, that when you ask to update your SSN on your Form W-4 your employer may ask you also to complete a new Form I-9.  At that time, you should simply complete a new Form I-9 with your updated SSN and original hire date.  Your employer can then attach the new Form I-9 to the original I-9 you completed at the time of hire. See USCIS Employer Handbook at p. 24, available at http://www.uscis.gov/files/form/m-274.pdf.

    When I attempted to update my SSN, my employer asked for more documents or different documents than the Form I-9 requires. Is this allowed?

    No.  In updating your SSN, your employer may not ask for more or different documents than required by federal law.  Doing so may be discriminatory and constitute an unfair immigration-related employment practice.  See 8 U.S.C. § 1324b; INA § 274B; 8 C.F.R. §274A.2(b)(1)(v); Cal. Lab. Code § 1019.

    My employer has refused to allow me to update my SSN. What should I do?

    If you live in California, you should inform your employer of your right to update your personal information.  Please see below for a sample letter you can provide your employer, which explains that updating one’s personal information is protected under state law.

    My employer fired me for updating my SSN. What can I do?

    Under California Labor Code § 1024.6, your employer cannot fire, discriminate, retaliate, or take any adverse action against you if you  update your personal information, unless the changes are directly related to the job’s skill set, qualifications, or knowledge required for the job.

    Some examples of prohibited conduct by employers include:

    • Firing an employee who attempts to update her Social Security number
    • Demoting an employee who attempts to provide the employer with her new name
    • Suspending an employee who attempts to update her Employment Authorization Document

    If you feel that your employer has done any of the above, you can file a complaint with the Department of Labor Standards and Enforcement (DLSE).  If the DLSE decides that  your employer has committed such retaliation against you, your employer may face a penalty of up to $10,000 for each incident of retaliation or suspension of its business license for a period of time.  For more information on how to file a complaint with DLSE, visit http://www.dir.ca.gov/dlse/HowToFileDiscriminationComplaint.htm. Your complaint must be filed within six (6) months after your employer’s retaliation against you.

    Can I receive credit for the social security deductions taken from wages I earned before I received my own SSN?

    Yes.  This process is often referred to as “unscrambling.”  The Social Security Administration (SSA) will allow you to update your records and receive credit for earnings you may have made while using a different SSN.  The SSA can assist you in this process.  For more information on what you need to update your records, visit http://www.ssa.gov/pubs/EN-05-10081.pdf. 

    Will I face criminal charges for updating my earnings records with the Social Security Administration?

    Because using a SSN other than your own is illegal, there is no guarantee that you will not face legal consequences for having used a different SSN.  However, the SSA does not typically prosecute (nor refer to prosecutors) people who have previously reported income under a SSN that was not their own.

    Click here for a sample letter to use in writing to your employer.

DISCLAIMER

This Fact Sheet is intended to provide accurate, general information regarding legal rights relating to employment in California. Yet because laws and legal procedures are subject to frequent change and differing interpretations, the Legal Aid Society–Employment Law Center cannot ensure the information in this Fact Sheet is current nor be responsible for any use to which it is put. Do not rely on this information without consulting an attorney or the appropriate agency about your rights in your particular situation.