打击工作场所的反犹太主义行为

以 PDF 格式下载本页

什么是反犹太主义?

反犹太主义包括对犹太人、被认为是犹太人的人、或与犹太人或犹太宗教有关联的人的仇恨或偏见。 当反犹太主义出现在工作场所时,可能会导致员工受到骚扰、边缘化或其他方式的歧视,从而违反联邦和加利福尼亚州的民权法。

尽管 "反犹太主义 "没有一个单一的、普遍接受的定义,但人们普遍认为它包括某些共同的要素。 例如,美国国务院引用了欧洲种族主义和仇外心理监测中心制定的工作定义:"反犹太主义是对犹太人的某种看法,可能表现为对犹太人的仇恨。反犹太主义的言辞和实际表现是针对犹太人或非犹太人个人和/或他们的财产,针对犹太社区机构和宗教设施。"[1]该定义提供了一些应被视为反犹太主义行为的例子:

  • 呼吁、协助或为杀害或伤害犹太人辩护(通常是以激进意识形态或极端宗教观的名义)。
  • 对犹太人本身或犹太人作为一个集体的力量进行虚假的、非人化的、妖魔化的或刻板的指控--特别是但不限于关于世界犹太人阴谋或犹太人控制媒体、经济、政府或其他社会机构的神话。
  • 指责犹太人作为一个民族要为某个犹太个人或团体、以色列国,甚至非犹太人所犯的真实或想象中的错误行为负责。
  • 指责犹太人作为一个民族或以色列作为一个国家编造或夸大了大屠杀。
  • 指责犹太公民更忠于以色列或所谓的全世界犹太人的优先事项,而不是自己国家的利益。

必须指出的是,除了宗教歧视(包括未能合理照顾犹太雇员的宗教习俗)之外,反犹太主义还可能根据具体情况采取基于血统、[2]民族血统[3] 或种族的歧视形式。

工作场所的反犹太主义是否违法?

根据 1964 年《民权法案》第七章以及《加利福尼亚公平就业和住房法案》,工作场所的反犹太主义歧视或骚扰是非法的,而且可以(视情况而定)被视为一种宗教、国籍和/或血统歧视和骚扰。 例如,如果犹太人在申请筛选、工作面试、雇用、晋升、工作条件、报酬、调职或解雇等方面受到不同待遇,这就很可能构成对上述法律的违反。 同样,援引上述反犹太主义信仰或反犹太主义污蔑或陈规定型观念的骚扰行为,其严重性或普遍性可能会造成非法的敌意工作环境。 

此外,雇主拒绝为犹太雇员提供合理的宗教便利--如允许调整日程安排或休假以遵守安息日或诸如玫瑰节或赎罪日等节日,允许佩戴圆顶小帽或祈祷披肩,或拒绝承认犹太宗教节日与其他宗教节日享有同等地位--也可能构成非法歧视。 

在这种情况下,雇主必须考虑所有可用的替代方案,尽量给予宗教通融。 如果他们拒绝了请求,他们需要证明,鉴于企业的性质和运营情况,他们所承受的负担是巨大的。

如果我认为我在工作场所遇到了反犹太主义,我该怎么办?

如果您认为自己因为是犹太人、被认为是犹太人或因为与犹太同事或犹太事业有联系(包括公开反对反犹太主义)而受到歧视或骚扰,您应立即通知雇主,最好是提出正式投诉。 根据法律规定,您的雇主必须对有关歧视和骚扰的申诉进行调查,如果发现确实存在此类行为,则应立即采取有效措施予以制止,并防止此类行为再次发生。 如果您的雇主没有这样做,则可能要对其雇员实施的歧视和骚扰行为负责。

如果您的雇主没有采取及时有效的措施来制止歧视或骚扰行为,您可以向美国平等就业机会委员会("EEOC")或加州民权局("CRD")提出歧视或骚扰投诉,以维护您向联邦或加州州法院提出法律索赔的权利。 请注意,如果您选择向平等就业机会委员会(EEOC)投诉,在加州,您必须在歧视或骚扰发生后 300 天内进行投诉。 相反,如果您选择向 CRD 提起诉讼,则必须在歧视或骚扰发生之日起三年内提起诉讼。参见我们的 就业歧视和骚扰如何提出歧视指控 有关雇主规模资格要求以及如何向这两个机构提出申诉的更多信息,请参阅我们的 "就业中的歧视和骚扰 "和 "如何提出歧视指控 "这两份概况介绍。 

相关工作场所法律援助概况介绍

外部资源


[1] https://web.archive.org/web/20170210041344/https://www.state.gov/s/rga/resources/267538.htm。

[2]《加州公平就业和住房法》禁止基于雇员的血统或被认为具有的血统等原因的就业歧视。 Cal.Gov't Code § 12940(a)。

[3] 参见圣弗朗西斯学院诉 Al-Khazraji,481 U.S.604(1987 年)(解释《美国法典》第 42 篇第 1981 节)。

[4] 参见 Shaare Tefila Congregation 诉 Cobb,481 U.S.615(1987 年)(对 42 U.S.C. § 1982 的解释)。

Combatting Antisemitism in the Workplace

Download this page as a PDF

What is antisemitism?

Antisemitism includes hatred or prejudice against Jews, persons perceived to be Jewish, or persons who are associated with Jews or the Jewish religion.  When antisemitism appears in the workplace, it may lead to employees being harassed, marginalized or discriminated against in other ways that may violate Federal and California civil rights laws.

Although it has no single, universally accepted definition, “antisemitism” is generally understood to include certain common elements.  For example, the U.S. Department of State has cited to a working definition created by the European Monitoring Center on Racism and Xenophobia:  “Anti-Semitism is a certain perception of Jews, which may be expressed as hatred toward Jews. Rhetorical and physical manifestations of anti-Semitism are directed toward Jewish or non-Jewish individuals and/or their property, toward Jewish community institutions and religious facilities.”[1]  It provides a number of examples of actions that should be considered antisemitic:

  • Calling for, aiding, or justifying the killing or harming of Jews (often in the name of a radical ideology or an extremist view of religion).
  • Making mendacious, dehumanizing, demonizing, or stereotypical allegations about Jews as such or the power of Jews as a collective—especially but not exclusively, the myth about a world Jewish conspiracy or of Jews controlling the media, economy, government or other societal institutions.
  • Accusing Jews as a people of being responsible for real or imagined wrongdoing committed by a single Jewish person or group, the state of Israel, or even for acts committed by non-Jews.
  • Accusing the Jews as a people, or Israel as a state, of inventing or exaggerating the Holocaust.
  • Accusing Jewish citizens of being more loyal to Israel, or to the alleged priorities of Jews worldwide, than to the interest of their own nations.

It is important to note that in addition to religious discrimination (including a failure to reasonably accommodate Jewish employees’ religious practices), antisemitism may, depending on the circumstances, take the form of discrimination on the basis of ancestry,[2] national origin[3] or race.[4]

Is antisemitism in the workplace unlawful?

Under Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 as well as the California Fair Employment and Housing Act, antisemitic discrimination or harassment in the workplace is illegal, and can (depending on the situation) be treated as a form of religious, national origin, and/or ancestry discrimination and harassment.  For example, if Jewish persons are treated differently with respect to application screening, job interviews, hiring, promotions, working conditions, compensation, and transfers or terminations, this could well constitute a violation of those laws.  Similarly, harassment invoking the above-described antisemitic beliefs, or antisemitic slurs or stereotypes, may be so severe or pervasive as to create an unlawful hostile work environment. 

In addition, an employer’s denial of reasonable religious accommodations to Jewish employees — such as allowing scheduling adjustments or leave time to observe Shabbat or holidays like Rosh Hashanah or Yom Kippur, permitting the wearing of yarmulkes or prayer shawls, or refusal to recognize Jewish religious holidays on a par with those of other religions — may also constitute unlawful discrimination. 

In these situations, employers must consider all available alternatives to try to grant the religious accommodation.  If they deny the request, they will need to show that the burden upon them is substantial given the nature and operation of the business.

What should I do if I believe I have encountered antisemitism in my workplace?

If you think you have been discriminated against or harassed because you are Jewish, perceived to be Jewish, or because of your association with Jewish co-workers or causes (including speaking out against antisemitism), you should promptly notify your employer, preferably by making a formal complaint.  Under the law, your employer is required to investigate claims of discrimination and harassment and, where such actions are found to have occurred, to take prompt and effective steps to stop those actions and to prevent them from happening again.  If your employer fails to do so, it may become liable for the discrimination and harassment carried out by its employees.

If your employer does not take prompt and effective action to stop the discrimination or harassment, you may file a complaint of discrimination or harassment with the U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (“EEOC”) or the California Civil Rights Department (“CRD”) if you want to preserve your right to file a legal claim in federal or California state court.  Please note that if you choose to file your complaint with the EEOC, in California you must do so within 300 days of when the discrimination or harassment took place.  If you choose to file with CRD, by contrast, you must do so with three years of the date of the discrimination or harassment. See our Discrimination and Harassment in Employment and How to File a Charge of Discrimination fact sheets for more information about employer size eligibility requirements and how to file a claim with either agency. 

Relevant Legal Aid at Work Fact Sheets

External Resources


[1] https://web.archive.org/web/20170210041344/https://www.state.gov/s/rga/resources/267538.htm.

[2] The California Fair Employment and Housing Act bars employment discrimination based, among other things, on an employee’s ancestry or perceived ancestry.  Cal. Gov’t Code § 12940(a).

[3] Cf. Saint Francis College v. Al-Khazraji, 481 U.S. 604 (1987) (interpreting 42 U.S.C. § 1981).

[4] Cf. Shaare Tefila Congregation v. Cobb, 481 U.S. 615 (1987) (interpreting 42 U.S.C. § 1982).