向联邦教育部提交 Title IX 民权投诉的小贴士

随着越来越多的女孩和年轻女性了解她们在民权法案 Title IX 下享受平等体育项目和设施的权利,她们了解到自己的学校有多落后。在 2014 财务年,联邦教育部民权办公室 (OCR) 收到了超过 3,600 个 Title IX 体育平等投诉。以下是关于提交投诉的初步须知。

    向 OCR 提交投诉之前的注意事项

    1. 任何人都可以提交 Title IX 体育项目机会不平等的投诉,包括对地方学校体育队感兴趣并观察到不平等情况的社区居民。您无需是学校的学生,也无需与任何学生有任何亲戚关系。
    2. 您必须在不平等对待发生后 180 天之内提交投诉。所以,您应该尽早提交,即使这是一个持续性的问题,例如没有提供女孩足够的体育队员名额。在另一方面,在很多情况下,在 180 天结束之后提交也可能被允许。
    3. 您要寻求的改变 (法律上称为“救济”) 可能包括学校增加女孩赛队,或者改善设施,以平衡男孩和女孩获得的福利。
    4. 在投诉中您不需要透露您是谁!如果您担心报复,您可以要求机构为您的身份保密。不过,我们提醒您注意两个事情:首先,在有些情况下,机密举报可能让 OCR 较难展开调查。其次,您的投诉不会匿名。如果在您的投诉得到解决后,有人提出信息自由 (FOIA) 请求,则投诉中的信息将被透露。

    收集投诉相关信息的小贴士

    1. 如果学校有 Title IX 投诉处理程序的话,有时您可以通过内部程序得到有用的信息。您甚至可能就此解决问题。但是您无需经过学校的内部投诉程序,就可以直接向 OCR 提交投诉。
    2. 查看我们的 Title IX 清单,发现您可能漏掉的问题。
    3. 可以在投诉中包括报复的指控,也可以在投诉提交之后提出。
    4. 向 OCR 提交投诉之后,您可以提交补充资料。您也可以要求了解进展,询问 OCR 何时回复或调查何时完成。
    5. OCR 接受“集体”投诉,意味着您可以代表声称经历类似歧视的很多女孩。

    关于 OCR 如何处理投诉的小贴士

    1. 您可以通过电子邮件、传真或邮局提交投诉。
    2. OCR 可能对您进行电话访谈,收集更多信息。准备好您要说什么,点明投诉的重点内容。
    3. OCR 可能试图尽早解决投诉的问题,并让校区自行解决指控的问题。
    4. 如果早期解决不成功, OCR 将展开调查,一般在 180 内完成,有时可能更久。
    5. 如果您对结果不满意,您可以在60 天内上诉 OCR 的决定。

免责声明

本事实說明书目的是提供有关加州就业法律权利准确的、一般性的资讯。但是因为法律及法律程序会時有变化以及不同的解释,Legal Aid at Work劳工法律中心不能夠确保这份事实说明书包含最新的讯息,也不会对其使用负任何责任。请不要仅仅依赖这些讯息,你应该就你的特定情況去咨询律师以及适当机构。

Tips for filing a Title IX civil rights complaint with US Dept of Education

As more and more girls and young women learn about their rights to equal sports programs and facilities under Title IX of the Civil Rights Act, they are realizing how far behind their schools are. More than 3,600 Title IX athletics complaints were filed with the U.S. Department of Education's Office for Civil Rights (OCR) in fiscal 2014. Here's what you need to know to get started on filing a complaint.

    Things to know before you file a complaint with the OCR

    1. Anyone can file a Title IX athletics complaint, including a community member interested in local school teams who has observed inequities. You don't have to be a student at the school or even related to a student.
    2. You have to file a complaint within 180 days of the unequal treatment. So you should file as soon as possible, even if there is an ongoing issue, like not providing enough spots for girls to play sports. On the other hand, in many cases, it may be OK to file after the 180 days end.
    3. The changes you seek (known in the law as "relief") might include the school adding more teams for girls or upgrading facilities to equalize what girls and boys receive.
    4. You don’t have to reveal your identity in your complaint! If you are concerned about retaliation, you can ask the agency to keep your identity confidential. We offer two notes of caution, however, in taking this route: First, in some cases, complaining confidentially may make it difficult for OCR to investigate. Second, your complaint won't be anonymous. If someone files a Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) request after your complaint is addresses, the information in it will be revealed.

    Tips on gathering information to include in your complaint

    1. You can sometimes get helpful information through an internal process, if your school has one for Title IX complaints. You might even resolve the problem. But you're not required to go through your school's internal complaint process before filing an OCR complaint.
    2. Take a look at our Title IX checklist to identify issues you might have missed.
    3. Claims of retaliation can be brought within the complaint, or after a complaint is made.
    4. After filing a complaint with OCR, you may supplement it with more information. You can also request updates and ask OCR when you can expect to hear from them or when the investigation will be complete.
    5. OCR accepts "class" complaints, which means you can file on behalf of many girls who claim they have experienced similar discrimination.

    Tips about How OCR Handles Complaints

    1. You can file a complaint via email, fax, or mail (ADD links).
    2. OCR may conduct a phone interview with you to gather additional information. Prepare what you wish to say and share, highlighting key points of your complaint as needed.
    3. OCR may try to resolve a complaint early and let the school district voluntarily address the allegations.
    4. If early resolution is not successful, OCR will complete an investigation, generally within 180 days, though it can take longer.
    5. If you are not satisfied with the outcome, you may appeal OCR's decision within 60 days.

Disclaimer

This Fact Sheet is intended to provide accurate, general information regarding legal rights relating to employment in California. Yet because laws and legal procedures are subject to frequent change and differing interpretations, Legal Aid at Work cannot ensure the information in this Fact Sheet is current nor be responsible for any use to which it is put. Do not rely on this information without consulting an attorney or the appropriate agency about your rights in your particular situation.