有刑事记录的求职者的权利

    什么是加州公平机会法案 (又称为“废除填表项法案”),以及您有哪些权利?

    加州公平机会法案保护求职者免受基于犯罪历史的歧视。于2018年1月1日生效的该项法律限制雇主何时可以询问刑事历史以及可以问什么问题。根据该项法律,在雇主因为申请者的刑事历史而拒绝聘用之前,申请者有权提供关于自己的进一步信息。该项法律适用于所有的私人及公共雇主,但是有些例外情况。

    因为该项法律修改了现有州法,请务必仔细阅读以下的情况介绍。本情况介绍也包括加州劳工法典第 432.7 节以及加州调查性消费者报告机构法案,它们也规管雇主和商业背景调查公司。其他法律,包括禁止基于残障或种族的雇用歧视的法律,可能也会适用。

    “废除填表项”指的是什么?

    “废除填表项”指的是求职申请表上问到申请者是否有犯罪历史的打勾格或问题项,例如“是否被判犯下重罪或其他罪行”。如同以下的解释,大多数雇主不再能够在求职申请表上问这样的问题。

    加州公平机会法案覆盖哪些雇主?

    雇员人数 5 人或更多的公共或私人雇主。但是,本法案的保护不包括以下情况:

    • 州或地方政府机构依法必须进行刑事背景调查;
    • 刑事司法机构 (如警察局、地方检察官办公室、郡警长办公室);
    • 农场劳工承包商 (招聘农业工的公司) 需要接受调查;
    • 法律要求雇主进行刑事背景调查或根据刑事历史限制雇用的情况。

    受规管雇主不能做的事情:

    加州公平机会法案规管雇主可以考虑什么刑事历史资料,何时可以考虑,以及意图根据刑事历史拒绝某人工作机会时必须做什么。特别地,根据加州公平机会法案以及紧密相关的加州劳工法典第 432.7 节,受规管雇主不得:

    • 在求职申请表上包括关于您的定罪史的问题;
    • 在作出条件性工作邀约之前 (包括在面谈时) 询问您的刑事历史 (条件性工作邀约指的是取决于背景调查结果的待定聘用邀约);
    • 询问或考虑以下相关信息:(1) 未导致定罪的逮捕 (除非申请者正在保释或具结等候庭审), (2) 审前或审后分流计划的参加;(3) 已被密封、撤销、注销或依法消除的定罪;
    • 询问或考虑起源于青少年法庭的逮捕、拘留、处理、分流、监督、判决或法庭处置信息。

    大多数雇主作出雇用决定时不得考虑的“禁区”是什么?

    一般而言,雇主在作出雇用相关决定 (包括是否收回条件性工作邀约) 的时候,不得考虑以下信息:

    • 未导致定罪的逮捕或拘留 (除非雇员或申请者正在保释或具结等候庭审);审前或审后分流计划的转介或参加;已被密封的定罪;
    • 已被撤销的定罪 (有时称为“注销”);
      已被依法消除的定罪;
    • 已获得全面赦免的定罪;
    • 已获得矫正证书的定罪;
    • 起源于青少年法庭的逮捕、拘留、处理、分流、监督、判决或法庭处置信息。
    • 备注:在旧金山,旧金山公平机会法令规定了雇主不得询问的更多信息 (见下文)。

    受规管雇主可以做的事情:

    • 在作出条件性工作邀约之后,雇主可以进行刑事历史或背景调查 (但是在大多数情况下不一定要这么做)。但是,雇主必须对您的定罪历史作个人化的评估,评估因素包括:刑事历史的性质和严重性;事情过去多久;申请职位的性质以及刑事历史是否与职位直接相关。
    • 如果雇主决定收回工作邀约,则必须以书面进行,告诉您哪项定罪导致您失去资格,提供他们依赖的任何报告或背景调查的副本,并给您至少五个工作日对决定作出回应 (如何回应见下文)。
    • 其后雇主必须考虑您的回应,评估您提供的记录错误或矫正的证据。
    • 如果雇主仍想收回工作邀约,则必须向您提供一份最终书面通知,告知可以如何向公司上诉该决定或向公平就业和住房部提交投诉 (见下文)。

    另外,根据加州调查性消费者报告机构法案,使用背景调查服务的雇主必须通知您:背景报告的目的;执行背景调查的公司的名称、地址和电话号码;关于有权看自己的报告的权利概述;以及您能够索取报告副本的情况。如果雇主是在内部进行资料搜索,一般来说必须允许申请者获得用于创建报告的公共记录的副本;如果使用第三方筛查公司,则必须取得您的书面同意才能进行背景检查。

    您可以做什么?

    • 索取背景报告的副本。
    • 回应雇主的不雇用通知,指出其依赖的记录的错误并提供证据。
    • 回应雇主的不雇用通知,提交矫正的证据。矫正的证据包括: (1) 注册或完成高中课程的证明; (2) 原任教师或教授的推荐信; (3) 定罪后完成矫正计划的证明; (4) 缓刑官或假释官证明您已完成所有缓刑或假释条件的信; (5) 滥用康复计划和/或辅导员证明您目前戒断情况的信 (例如物质滥用治疗或情绪管理课程); (6) 辅导员、教员或雇主的信; (7) 社区服务、教育或其他自我改善努力的证明; (8) 心理医生或其他精神健康或医疗专业人士的信; (9) 其他人的支持信; (10) 描述您的矫正努力或您为改变人生而作出行动的个人陈述。
    • 提前做好准备!整理自己的刑事记录 (包括索取 RAP 记录副本)。如有取得或核实刑事历史记录的疑问,请点击这里
    • 使用记录清除法律服务,取得您的刑事记录的撤销 (常常称为“注销”)。要在加州取得记录清除协助 ,请点击这里。要在其他州取得记录清除协助,请访问全美 H.I.R.E 网络
    • 记录所有情况。将申请表、背景调查、您与雇主或其代表之间的任何通讯、以及任何其他的相关材料的副本保留在一个安全的地方。做笔记,记下任何口头沟通,包括面对面和电话交谈,包括人物、内容、地点和时间。
    • 联络 Legal Aid at Work 取得协助!访问我们的网站,浏览我们的情况介绍 (例如关于歧视的这一张),或者打电话给工作者权利辅导取得免费的咨询。
    • 如果您不同意雇主的决定,您有权向加州公平就业和住房部 (DFEH) 提交投诉。您可以这样做:
    • 在这里填写线上投诉表:
      https://ccrs.dfeh.ca.gov/DFEH_Login;
    • 下载投诉表,电子邮件至 [email protected] 或邮寄至 DFEH (2218 Kausen Drive, Suite 100, Elk Grove, CA 95758)
    • 打电话给 DFEH 800-884-1684 (语音) 800-700-2320 (TTY) 或加州中继服务 711
    • 亲自前往 DFEH

    如果有歧视怎么办?

    如果您认为您在就业方面受到基于残障、种族、族裔、原国籍、宗教、妊娠、年龄、性取向、或军人或退伍军人状况的歧视,您可能有基于州或联邦的其他就业法的权利和救济。

    例如,如果雇主以刑事记录的理由拒绝一名非洲裔美国人的申请,却雇用一名刑事记录相当、情况类似的白人,就可能存在种族歧视。可以支持歧视投诉的证据也包括:偏见言论、不一致的雇用程序、或者显示刑事背景历史对受保护团体的负面份量更重的统计学证据。

    如果我的刑事历史涉及物质滥用,怎么办?

    过往的毒品成瘾可能在州和联邦雇用法律之下算作一种残障。如果您正在接受毒品和/或酒精滥用的治疗且已不再使用非法物质,您可能有更多的权利。要了解更多信息,请联络 Legal Aid at Work 1-415-864-8848 或预约前来取得工作者权利辅导。

    如果雇主说他们不会雇用任何有重罪历史的人,怎么办?

    如果雇主的政策或做法是不雇用任何被定重罪的人,这也可能涉及联邦和州的雇用歧视法律。全面禁止有定重罪历史的人很可能是非法的。请联络 Legal Aid at Work 1-415-864-8848 并要求接通我们的种族经济正义项目

    洛杉矶和旧金山的情况有什么不同?

    洛杉矶和旧金山有自己的“公平机会”地方法令,为求职者提供更多权利。

     

    旧金山在2018年4月通过了自己的“废除填表项”地方法令,为工作者提供额外的保护。具体而言,受规管的旧金山雇主:

    • 不得考虑除重罪或轻罪以外的违法行为,例如违规。
    • 不得考虑时间过去超过七年的定罪 (除非这是监督未成年人或监督须依赖他人的成年人的职位)。
    • 不得考虑已被除罪行为的定罪,包括大麻的非商业使用和栽植。

    洛杉矶也有自己的地方法令。该法令要求:

    受规管雇主在进行定罪的个人化评估并决定不雇用之后,必须提供一个“公平机会程序”。该程序要求雇主:向申请者提供决定的书面通知;在告知申请者之后保留职位至少 5 个工作日;并在保留职位期间允许申请者提供相关文件。

免责声明

本情况说明的意图是提供与加州雇用法相关权利的准确的一般性信息。但是,因为法律和程序经常发生改变并且各人解读不一, Legal Aid at Work 不能保证本单张内的信息是当前有效的,也不对其使用负责。不要完全依赖本信息,而不向律师或相关机构咨询您在具体情况下的权利。
© 2019 Legal Aid at Work. All rights reserved
Legal Aid at Work, 180 Montgomery Street, Suite 600, San Francisco CA 94104 / 415-864-8848

Rights of Job Seekers with Criminal Records

Learn about your rights as a job seeker in California with a criminal record.

    What is the California Fair Chance Act (also known as a Ban the Box law), and what are your rights?

    The California Fair Chance Act protects job applicants from discrimination based on their criminal history. The law, which became effective on January 1, 2018, limits when and what employers can ask about criminal history. The law also gives applicants the right to provide additional information about themselves before the employer can reject them because of that history. The law applies to all private and public employers, with some exceptions.

    Because it changed existing state laws, it is important to carefully read through the following fact sheet. This fact sheet will also cover parts of California Labor Code § 432.7 and the California Investigative Consumer Reporting Agencies Act, which also regulate employers and commercial background check companies. Other laws, including laws prohibiting employment discrimination based on disability or race, may also apply.

    What does “Ban the Box” refer to?

    “Ban the Box” refers to the box or question on employment applications that asks applicants whether they had a criminal history— for example, if they had been convicted of a felony or other crimes. As explained below, most employers can no longer ask these types of questions on job applications.

    Which employers are covered by the California Fair Chance Act?

    Employers, whether public or private, that have 5 or more employees.

    However, the protections of this bill do not cover positions:

    • for which a state or local agency is otherwise required by law to conduct a criminal background check;
    • with a criminal justice agency (like police departments, district attorney offices, Sheriff’s departments, etc.);
    • as farm labor contractors (companies that hire agricultural workers);
    • where the law requires an employer to conduct criminal background checks or restrict employment based on criminal history.

    What covered employers can’t do:

    The California Fair Chance Act regulates what criminal history information employers can consider, when they can consider it, and what they must do if they intend to deny someone a job based on that criminal history. Specifically, under the California Fair Chance Act and the closely related California Labor Code § 432.7, covered employers cannot:

    • Include questions about your conviction history on a job application;
    • Ask about your criminal history, including at an interview, before making a conditional job offer (“conditional job offer” means an offer of employment that is pending, subject to a background check);
    • Ask about or consider information about: (1) arrests that didn’t lead to convictions (unless the applicant is out on bail or on his or her own recognizance pending trial), (2) participation in pretrial or post-trial diversion programs, or (3) convictions that have been sealed, dismissed, expunged or statutorily eradicated;
    • Ask about or consider information about arrests, detentions, processing, diversions, supervision, adjudications, or court dispositions stemming from juvenile courts.

    What information is “off-limits” for most employers to use in making a decision about my job?

    In general, employers may not consider the following information when making employment-related decisions, including whether to revoke a conditional job offer:

    • Arrests or detentions that did not result in conviction (except if the employee or applicant is out on bail or on his or her own recognizance pending trial);
    • Referral to or participation in pretrial or post-trial diversion programs;
    • Convictions that have been sealed;
    • Convictions that have been dismissed (sometimes called “expunged”);
    • Convictions that have been statutorily eradicated;
    • Convictions for which a full pardon has been received;
    • Convictions for which a person has been issued a certificate of rehabilitation;
    • Information about arrests, detentions, processing, diversions, supervision, adjudications, or court dispositions stemming from juvenile courts.

    Note: in San Francisco, there is additional information that is off-limits for employers covered by the San Francisco Fair Chance Ordinance (see below).

    What covered employers can do:

    • After making a conditional job offer, employers may conduct a criminal history or background check (but in most cases, are not required to do so). However, the employer is required to make an individualized assessment of your conviction history, evaluating factors such as: the nature and seriousness of your criminal history; the amount of time that has passed; and the nature of the job sought and whether the criminal history is directly related to the position.
    • If the employer decides to take back its job offer, it must do so in writing, notify you of which conviction was disqualifying, provide a copy of any report or background check they relied on, and give you at least five business days to respond to the decision (see below for how you can respond).
    • The employer must then consider your response, taking into account any evidence of mistakes or rehabilitation you provided.
    • If the employer still wants to revoke your job offer, it must provide you with a final written notice, with information about how to challenge the decision with the company and/or file with the Department of Fair Employment and Housing (see below).

    Separately, the California Investigative Consumer Reporting Agencies Act requires employers that use background check services to notify you about: the purpose of the background report; the name, address and telephone number of the company doing the background check; a summary of your rights to see any report about you; and your ability to request a copy of the report. When running searches in-house, employers must generally allow applicants to receive a copy of the public records used to create the report and obtain your written permission to run a background check when using a third-party screening company.

    What can you do?

        • Request a copy of the background report.
        • Respond to the employer’s notice by pointing out and submitting proof of errors in the records it relied on.
        • Respond to the employer’s notice by submitting evidence of rehabilitation. Evidence of rehabilitation can include: (1) proof of enrollment or completion of high school; (2) letters of recommendation from previous teachers or professors; (3) proof of completion of rehabilitation programs after the conviction; (4) letters from probation or parole officers attesting that you satisfied all terms of probation or parole; (5) letters from recovery programs and/or counselors attesting to your current state of rehabilitation (e.g. substance abuse treatment or anger management courses); (6) letters of recommendation from counselors, instructors, or employers; (7) proof of community service, education or other self-improvement efforts; (8) letters from a psychologist or other mental health or medical professional; (9) letters of support from others; (10) a personal statement from you describing your rehabilitative efforts, or any changes you have made to improve your life.
        • Prepare now! Gather your own criminal records (which can include getting a copy of your RAP sheet). For questions related to obtaining or verifying your criminal history records, click here.
        • Participate in clean slate legal services to have your criminal records dismissed (often referred to as “expungement”). For clean slate assistance in California, click here. For clean slate assistance in other states, visit National H.I.R.E Network.
        • Document everything. Keep copies of the application, background check, any correspondence between you and the employer or its representative, and any other relevant materials in a safe place. Keep notes for yourself of any verbal communications, including in-person and phone conversations, and include the details of who, what, where, and when.
        • Contact Legal Aid at Work for assistance! Visit our website and browse our fact sheets (like this one on discrimination) or call in to one of our Workers’ Rights Clinics for a free consultation.
        • If you disagree with the employer’s decision, you have the right to file a complaint with the California Department of Fair Housing and Employment (DFEH). You can do so by:
          •       filling out an online complaint form here: https://ccrs.dfeh.ca.gov/DFEH_Login;
          •      downloading the complaint form and either emailing it to contact.center@dfeh.ca.gov, or mailing it to the DFEH at 2218 Kausen Drive, Suite 100, Elk Grove, CA 95758;
          •      calling the DFEH at: 800-884-1684 (voice), 800-700-2320 (TTY) or California’s Relay Service at 711;
          •      visiting the DFEH in person.

         

    What about discrimination?

    If you believe you have been discriminated against in hiring based on your disability, race, gender, ethnicity, national origin, religion, pregnancy, age, sexual orientation, gender identity or military and veteran status, you may have rights and remedies under other state or federal employment laws.

    For example, if an employer rejects an African-American applicant based on her criminal record but hired a similar White applicant with a comparable criminal record, race discrimination may be present. Evidence of biased statements, inconsistent hiring processes, or statistical evidence that tends to show that criminal background history weighs more heavily against protected groups than non-protected groups can also establish a discrimination claim.

    What if my criminal history involves substance abuse?

    Past drug addiction may qualify as a disability under state and federal employment discrimination laws. If you are receiving treatment for drug and/or alcohol addiction and no longer using illicit substances, you may have additional rights. Please contact Legal Aid at Work at 1-415-864-8848 or make an appointment at one of our Workers’ Rights Clinics for more information.

    What if the employer says they will not hire anyone with a felony?

    If an employer has a policy or practice of not hiring anyone with a felony conviction, that could also implicate federal and state employment discrimination laws. Blanket bans against anyone with a felony conviction are likely unlawful. Please contact Legal Aid at Work at 1-415-864-8848 and ask for our Racial Economic Justice program.

    What is different in Los Angeles and San Francisco?

    Los Angeles and San Francisco have their own “Fair Chance” ordinances that provide additional rights for job seekers.

    San Francisco, in April 2018, passed its own “Ban the Box” ordinance which provides added protections for workers. In particular, covered employers in San Francisco:

    • cannot consider an offense other than a felony or misdemeanor, such as an infraction.
    • cannot consider a conviction that is more than 7 years old (unless the position being considered supervises minors or dependent adults)
    • cannot consider a conviction for decriminalized conduct, including the non-commercial use and cultivation of cannabis.

    Los Angeles also has its own ordinance. That law requires:

    • covered employers to provide a “fair chance process” after conducting an individualized assessment about the conviction and deciding not to hire someone. That process requires the employer to: provide the applicant with written notice of the action; hold the job open for at least 5 business days after the applicant has been informed; and allow the applicant an opportunity to submit documentation while the job is held open.

Disclaimer

This Fact Sheet is intended to provide accurate, general information regarding legal rights relating to employment in California. Yet because laws and legal procedures are subject to frequent change and differing interpretations, Legal Aid at Work cannot ensure the information in this Fact Sheet is current nor be responsible for any use to which it is put. Do not rely on this information without consulting an attorney or the appropriate agency about your rights in your particular situation.