I-9 Audits

    什么是I-9 表格?

    I-9 表格[1] 是雇主必须要求新雇员在聘用之后 3 天内填写的联邦政府表格。它显示雇员可以合法地在美国工作。

    I-9 表格包含雇员可以用于核实合法工作许可和身份的证明文件清单。[2] 雇员有权从清单中选择使用哪些文件。雇主不得指定雇员提供具体哪种文件。例如,虽然雇员可以选择出示社会安全卡,雇主不得要求雇员这样做。[3] 雇主必须接受看起来真实的文件。[4]

    [1] 参见I-9 表格 https://www.uscis.gov/system/files_force/files/form/i-9-paper-version.pdf

    [2] 参见可接受的文件清单 https://www.uscis.gov/i-9-central/acceptable-documents/list-documents/form-i-9-acceptable-documents

    [3] 8 U.S.C. § 1324b(a)(6).

    [4] 8 C.F.R. § 274a.2(b)(B)(ii)(A).

    什么是移民局 I-9 稽查?

    移民局 I-9 稽查是联邦移民官员检查或稽查雇主保存的 I-9 表格,确保表格准确及所有雇员有合法工作许可。稽查行动可能由移民及海关执法局 (“ICE”) 或 ICE 下属国土安全调查局 (“HSI”) 进行。

    移民官员不需要司法令状就可以进行 I-9 稽查。在稽查之前,移民官员提前至少三天向雇主发出一份称为“检查通知”的文件。移民官员可以要求雇主送交记录,也可能访问工作场所进行检查。

    移民局 I-9 稽查对我有什么风险?

    如果在完成稽查之后,移民官员将告知雇主其雇员 I-9 表格存在的问题。如果雇员不能出示额外文件以证明合法工作资格,而雇主继续雇用雇员的话,雇主就有遭受罚款和/或惩罚的风险。[1]

    如果移民官员在稽查开始或期间访问工作场所,他们可能试图询问并可能逮捕在访问中遇到的工作者。

    在稽查之后,移民官员识别了他们认为缺乏工作许可的雇员,并取得了 I-9 表格上的信息,例如家庭地址。移民官员可以使用该等信息返回工作场所来逮捕工作者,或者日后前往其家庭地址,虽然这不常见。[2]

    请记住,您有权保持沉默,不签署任何文件,并在回答移民官员问题之前咨询律师意见。

     

    [1] 8 U.S.C. § 1324a(a)(1).

    [2] https://rapidresponse.sfbar.org/wp-content/uploads/2018/04/I-9_Audit_Know_Your_Rights_English.pdf

    在移民局 I-9 稽查之前我有什么权利?

    根据加州法律,雇主必须在收到检查通知之后 72 小时内书面告知雇员将有稽查发生。该告知必须采用雇主与雇员交流通常使用的语言。[1]  如适用,该书面告知必须也交给雇员的工会代表。[2]

    雇主的书面告知必须包含: (1) 执行稽查的移民机构名称, (2) 雇主收到检查通知的日期,(3) 什么文件将接受检查,以及 (4) 检查通知的副本。[3]  如果没有张贴通知,雇员可以要求雇主张贴。雇员也可以要求雇主提供检查通知的副本。[4]

    加州劳工委员制作了关于移民局稽查中雇员权利的海报,语言版本包括英文西班牙文菲律宾文中文越南文韩文

     

    [1] Cal Lab Code § 90.2(a)(1).

    [2] Id.

    [3] Cal Lab Code § 90.2(a)(1)(A)-(D).

    [4] Cal Lab Code § 90.2(a)(3).

    在移民局I-9稽查期间我有什么权利?

    移民官员不总是遵守法律,他们可能试图询问和逮捕工作者,虽然法律不允许他们这样做。雇员应该记住,他们有权 (1) 保持沉默, (2) 拒绝签署文件,和 (3) 在回答任何问题之前咨询律师。此外,移民官员不得进入私人或仅限雇员的区域,除非有司法令状或取得雇主同意。[1] 如果他们访问工作场所的真实目的是询问、逮捕或拘留工作者,而不是稽查雇主保存的记录,则所进行的逮捕将可能是非法的。[2]

     

    [1] 参见 https://www.nilc.org/wp-content/uploads/2017/07/EmployerGuide-NELP-NILC-2017-07.pdf

    [2] 参见Perez Cruz v. Barr, 926 F.3d 1128 (9th Cir. 2019) (裁定,在甚至没有证据显示记录被扣押了的情况下,移民官员不得以使用司法搜查令来取得雇主的记录,作为询问、逮捕和拘留工作者的借口)。

    在移民局I-9稽查之后我有什么权利?

    移民官员完成稽查之后,将书面通知雇主,他们认为哪些雇员缺乏工作许可,以及他们无法确认哪些雇员有工作许可。他们还将通知雇主哪些 I-9 表格有技术性错误,例如没有更新雇员结婚后的新名字。

    雇主和移民官员必须允许雇员有机会纠正 I-9 表格中的任何错误。在加州,雇主收到稽查结果之后,必须书面告知雇员 (以及雇员的工会代表),移民官员认为其没有或可能没有工作许可。雇主必须在收到稽查结果之后72小时内给予告知。[1]

    书面告知必须包含: (1) 移民局指出的记录错误, (2) 雇员有多长时间纠正问题, (3) 与雇主和移民官员会面解决问题的日期和时间,和 (4) 在与雇主会面时雇员有权有律师或第三方 (例如工友或工会代表) 在场。[2]

    如果雇主提供此类告知,应该记得:

    • 雇主不得指定雇员必须出示何种文件来纠正 I-9 表格错误。[3] 雇员可以自行选择出示何种文件。
    • 雇员有权不与雇主讨论其移民身份。[4]
    • 雇员可以决定提供额外文件,证明其有在美国合法工作的许可。但是,不应该提供虚假文件。
    • 如果被给予机会提供额外信息之后,雇员无法纠正移民官员指出的问题,雇主继续雇用雇员则有遭受罚款和/或惩罚的风险。[5]

     

    [1] Cal Lab Code § 90.2(b)(1).

    [2] Cal Lab Code § 90.2(b)(1)(A)-(D).

    [3] 8 U.S.C. § 1324b(a)(6).

    [4] https://www.nilc.org/wp-content/uploads/2015/11/I-9-audits-primer-2009-07-23.pdf

    [5] 8 U.S.C. § 1324a(a)(1)-(2).

    移民局要求与我和雇主会面讨论我的I-9表格问题。我有什么权利?

    无证移民或有刑事记录的非公民应该考虑与移民官员会面的风险,包括被逮捕的风险。这些雇员应该在会面之前咨询移民律师的意见。他们也应该根据任何其他个人情况考虑参加会面的风险。

    在与雇主和/或移民官员的会面中,所有的雇员,无论其移民身份,都有权保持沉默、拒绝签署任何文件、以及在回答问题前咨询律师。在与雇主的会面中,加州雇员还有权有律师或第三方 (例如工友或工会代表) 在场。[1]

    雇员有权不与雇主谈论其移民身份。如果雇主知悉或应该知悉雇员没有工作许可,继续雇用他们则可能导致民事或刑事惩罚的风险。[2]

     

    [1] Cal. Lab. Code § 90.2(b)(1)(A)-(D).

    [2] 8 U.S.C. § 1324a(a)(1)-(2).

    移民局稽查对我的雇用和劳工权利有什么影响?

    除了很少几项例外的情况,所有的工作者有相同的劳工和雇用保护,无论他们的移民身份是什么。雇主不得以 I-9 稽查为借口,对雇员进行歧视、报复或威胁。雇主也不得解雇I-9稽查中被识别的雇员,除非雇员被给予合理的时间纠正问题,但仍无法证明合法工作许可。即使可以合法解雇,雇主仍然需要支付雇员已经工作挣得的工资。

    我如何确定移民局I-9 稽查真的在进行?

    移民局 I-9 稽查只是雇主要求现有雇员出示工作许可文件的原因之一。如果雇主要您出示工作许可证明,您可以询问他们索取信息的原因。雇主有时索取信息是为了对雇员进行威胁、报复或歧视,虽然这样做是非法的。要进一步了解雇主要求现有雇员提供工作许可文件的其他原因,请参见我们的情况说明

© 2019 Legal Aid at Work. All rights reserved
Legal Aid at Work, 180 Montgomery Street, Suite 600, San Francisco CA 94104 / 415-864-8848

I-9 Audits

    What is Form I-9?

    Form I-9[1] is the federal government form employers must have new employees complete within 3 days of hire.  It shows that an employee can legally work in the United States.

    The I-9 form contains lists of documents that employees can use to verify their work authorization and identity.[2]  Employees have the right to choose which documents from those lists to use.  An employer may not require an employee to present any particular document.  For example, although an employee may choose to present a Social Security card, the employer may not require the employee to do so.[3]  Employers must accept documents that appear genuine.[4]

    [1]See the Form I-9 here https://www.uscis.gov/system/files_force/files/form/i-9-paper-version.pdf

    [2] See the list of acceptable documents here: https://www.uscis.gov/i-9-central/acceptable-documents/list-documents/form-i-9-acceptable-documents

    [3] 8 U.S.C. § 1324b(a)(6).

    [4] 8 C.F.R. § 274a.2(b)(B)(ii)(A).

    What is an immigration I-9 audit?

    An immigration I-9 audit is when federal immigration officials review, or “audit,” an employer’s I-9 forms to make sure they are accurate, and that all its employees have work authorization.  The audit may be conducted by either Immigration and Customs Enforcement (“ICE”) or Homeland Security Investigations (“HSI”), a division within ICE.

    Immigration officials do not need a warrant to conduct an I-9 audit.  Instead, immigration officials issue employers a document called a Notice of Inspection at least three days before the audit.  Immigration officials may either ask the employer to send them its records, or come to the workplace to review them.

    What are the risks to me of an immigration I-9 audit?

    If, after finishing the audit, immigration officials notify an employer of problems with an employee’s I-9 form, and the employee cannot show additional documentation to show their eligibility to work, the employer may risk fines and/or sanctions by continuing to employ the employee.[1] .

    If immigration officials visit the workplace at the beginning or during the audit, they might try to speak with, and possibly arrest, workers they encounter during that visit.

    After an audit, immigration officials will have identified employees in the workplace who they believe lack work authorization, and will have the information included on the I-9, such as home addresses.  Immigration officials could use this information to return to the workplace to arrest workers or to go to the home address at a later date, although this is not common.[2]

    It is important to remember that you have a right to remain silent, to not sign any documents, and to speak with an attorney before answering any questions from immigration officials.

    [1] 8 U.S.C. § 1324a(a)(1).

    [2] https://rapidresponse.sfbar.org/wp-content/uploads/2018/04/I-9_Audit_Know_Your_Rights_English.pdf

    What are my rights before an Immigration I-9 audit?

    Under California state law, employers must give written notice to employee(s) of the upcoming audit within 72 hours after it receives the Notice of Inspection.  That notice must be in the language(s) the employer normally uses with the employee(s).[1]  Written notice must also be given to each employee’s union representative, if any.[2]

    This written notice must include: (1) the name of the immigration agency conducting the audit, (2) the date the employer received the Notice of Inspection, (3) what documents will be inspected, and (4) a copy of the Notice of Inspection.[3]  If no notice is posted, an employee may ask their employer to post one.  Employees may also request a copy of the Notice of Inspection from their employer.[4]

    The California Labor Commissioner has created a posting in English, Spanish, Tagalog, Chinese, Vietnamese, and Korean about employees’ rights relating to immigration audits.

    [1] Cal Lab Code § 90.2(a)(1).

    [2] Id.

    [3] Cal Lab Code § 90.2(a)(1)(A)-(D).

    [4] Cal Lab Code § 90.2(a)(3).

    What are my rights during an immigration I-9 audit?

    Immigration officials may not always follow the law, and may try to speak with and arrest workers even when the law says they cannot.  Employees should remember, however, that they have the right to (1) remain silent, (2) refuse to sign documents, and (3) speak to an attorney before answering any questions.  Also, immigration officials may NOT enter private or employee-only areas without a judicial warrant or the employer’s permission.[1] If their true purpose in visiting the workplace is to question, arrest or detain workers, instead of to audit the employer’s records, any arrests they make may be illegal.[2]

    [1] See https://www.nilc.org/wp-content/uploads/2017/07/EmployerGuide-NELP-NILC-2017-07.pdf.

    [2] See Perez Cruz v. Barr, 926 F.3d 1128 (9th Cir. 2019) (holding that immigration officials may not use a judicial search warrant to obtain an employer’s records, when there was no evidence that those records were even seized, as a pretense to question, arrest, and detain workers).

    What are my rights after an immigration I-9 audit?

    After immigration officials finish an audit, they will inform the employer in writing if they believe any employees lack work authorization, or if they were unable to confirm whether certain employees have work authorization. They will also notify employers of any technical errors in their I-9 forms, such as not updating an employee’s new last name after marriage.

    Employers and immigration officials must allow the employee an opportunity to correct any of these errors in their I-9 documents. In California, once an employer has received the results of the audit, it must notify in writing any employee (and that employee’s union representative, if any) who has been identified by immigration officials as not having or possibly not having work authorization.  The employer must do so within 72 hours of receiving the audit results.[1]

    The written notice must state: (1) the problems in the employer records identified by immigration, (2) how much time will be given to the employee to fix those problems, (3) the time and date of any meeting with the employer and immigration officials to make corrections, and (4) that the employee has the right to have an attorney or other third party (e.g., another worker or a union representative) present during any meeting scheduled with the employer.[2]

     

    If your employer provides you this type of notice, it is important to remember that:

    • An employer may not specify which documents an employee must present to correct the Form I-9.[3] Instead, the employee chooses which documents to present.
    • Employees have the right to not discuss their immigration status with their employers.[4]
    • An employee may decide to provide additional documentation to show their authorization to work in the U.S. However, false documentation should never be presented.
    • If, after being given an opportunity to provide additional information, an employee cannot correct the problems identified by immigration officials, the employer may risk fines and/or sanctions by continuing to employ the employee.[5]

    [1] Cal Lab Code § 90.2(b)(1).

    [2] Cal Lab Code § 90.2(b)(1)(A)-(D).

    [3] 8 U.S.C. § 1324b(a)(6).

    [4] https://www.nilc.org/wp-content/uploads/2015/11/I-9-audits-primer-2009-07-23.pdf

    [5] 8 U.S.C. § 1324a(a)(1)-(2).

    Immigration requested a meeting with me and my employer to discuss problems with my I-9 form. What are my rights?

    Employees who are undocumented or who are non-U.S. citizens who have criminal records should consider the risks of meeting with immigration officials, such as the risk of being arrested. These employees should consult with an immigration attorney before doing so. They also should consider the risks of attending the meeting based on any other relevant personal circumstances.

    In any meeting with an employer and/or immigration officials, all employees, regardless of immigration status, have the right to remain silent, to not sign any documents and to not answer any questions without consulting an attorney.  All employees in California also have the right to have an attorney or other third party (such as a coworker or a union representative) present during any meeting scheduled with the employer.[1]

    Employees have the right to not discuss their immigration status with their employers. If an employer knows or should know that employees are not authorized to work, they may risk civil or criminal penalties by continuing to employ them.[2]

    [1] Cal. Lab. Code § 90.2(b)(1)(A)-(D).

    [2] 8 U.S.C. § 1324a(a)(1)-(2).

    How are my employment and labor rights affected by an immigration audit?

    With a few exceptions, all workers have the same labor and employment protections regardless of their immigration status.  An employer may not use an I-9 audit as an excuse to discriminate against, retaliate against or intimidate employees.  Employers also may not terminate an employee identified in an I-9 audit unless the employee has been given reasonable time to correct any problems and still cannot demonstrate legal work authorization.   Even if the termination is legal, employers must pay the employee for all hours worked.

    How can I be sure an immigration I-9 audit is actually taking place?

    An immigration I-9 audit is only one of the reasons an employer may ask current employees for work authorization documents.  If an employer asks you to prove your work authorization, you can ask why they are requesting that information.  Even though it is illegal, employers sometimes do so as a way to intimidate, retaliate or discriminate against employees.  See our fact sheet for more information on other reasons an employer might ask current employees for work authorization information.