SSA No-Match Letter

    1. 什么是社会安全局的『不符合信函』?

    根据社会安全局 (SSA) 每年从雇主收集的信息,如果雇员的姓名及社会安全号码 (SSN) 与 SSA 档案不完全相符,SSA 就会向雇主发出『不符合信函』[1]。发生不符合有很多可能的原因。例如,雇员的名字因为结婚或离婚而发生改变,拼写错误,姓氏用法的习俗不同而导致不一致,或者雇主的记录有错误。

    SSA 的不符合信函本来有良好的用意,即确保雇员的收入被准确地记入其社会安全账户中,这样他们在开始使用 SSA 福利时 (例如退休或发生残障时),能够领到尽可能大的金额。(无证工作者无资格领取社会安全福利。) 重要的是,这些信函本身也澄清,不符合信函并不对移民身份或工作许可作任何说明。

    要查看 SSA 不符合信函的样本以及 SSA 提供的相关信息,请前往 https://www.ssa.gov/employer/notices.html

     

    [1] 有不同类型的『不符合信函』。本说明只讨论SSA 发给雇主的不符合信函,又称为『雇主纠正请求通知』。

    2. 我的雇主收到一封不符合信函,这意味着什么?

    如果您的雇主收到一封SSA 不符合信函,这意味着公司至少有一名雇员的姓名和社会安全号码与 SSA 的记录不相符。这封信不会列出雇员的姓名,但是雇主可以通过一项 SSA 线上服务了解他们是谁。

    如果您的雇主收到一封不符合信函,这并意味着被指明的雇员属于无证移民。这也意味着联邦移民机构联络了您的雇主。SSA 并执行移民法。

    3. 我的雇主收到一封不符合信函之后应该怎么做?

    您的雇主应该告知您有不符合的情况。

    SSA 要求雇主检查是否在提供您的信息时发生拼写错误。如果没有这类错误,您的雇主应该要求您查阅记录,看是否包含姓名或社会安全号码的错误。如果没有这样的情况,您的雇主应该要求您联络当地 SSA 办公室,解决问题。如果无法解决不符合问题,雇主无需采取进一步行动。[1]

     

    [1]      https://www.ssa.gov/employer/notices/EDCOR%20Letter%20-%20Final%20-%20Attachment%20-%209-16-19_508.pdf, 见 3 (『如果您用这些方法无法解决不符合的问题,则您在这个时候不能够纠正这个相关错误。无需采取任何进一步行动。』)

    4. 我的雇主收到一封不符合信函之后不应该做什么?

    您的雇主不应该对您采取任何负面行动,例如仅仅因为收到一封不符合信函就暂停或解雇您的工作。信函本身说明:

    不要因为本信函指出向我们报告的 SSN 或姓名不符合,就对雇员采取负面行动,如遣散、停职、解雇或歧视对待。该等行动可能违反州或联邦法律,导致您需要承担法律责任。[1]

    此外,您的雇主不得根据本信函威胁对您或其他工作者采取负面移民行动 (例如,威胁向移民及海关执法局 (ICE) 举报您),或对试图行使合法权利的工作者进行报复。雇主也一般不得根据不符合信函要求重新核实工作者的工作许可文件。

     

    [1]      https://www.ssa.gov/employer/notices/EDCOR%20Letter%20-%20Final%209-16-19508.docx.pdf

    5. 如果我的雇主说,由于不符合信函,我必须纠正我的姓名或社会安全号码,我应该怎么办?

    这个问题的答案取决于个别情况。以下是一般性考虑因素:

    首先您应该向雇主索取不符合信函以及 SSA 指明您为存在不符合问题的雇员的报告。如果您的雇主拒绝提供,有可能雇主其实没有收到不符合信函。

    如果您属于工会,您应该立即联络您的工会,谈论最佳应对。雇主必须与雇员谈判如何应对不符合信函,而您的工会也可以采取行动,保护您和其他工作者免于负面行动。

    如果您不属于工会,或者工会不帮助您,您应该告诉雇主,您将去了解情况并会告知任何需要改正的信息。如果您能够纠正不符合问题,告知雇主任何需要纠正的姓名或 SSN。如果您不能纠正不符合问题,您不需要采取进一步行动。

    如果您想要讨论您的个别情况以及潜在的应对步骤,您可以联络我们的办公室 Legal Aid at Work/劳工法律中心,电话号码 800-864-1664。

    6. 如果我不能纠正不符合问题,而我的雇主坚持要我纠正,我应该怎么做?

    有时,雇主可能坚持要求雇员纠正姓名或 SSN,即使雇员已经说明自己将去了解情况并会告知雇主任何必要的纠正。

    有些雇主可能确实不清楚应该如何应对 SSA 的不符合信函,错误地以为他们必须纠正不一致,否则会遭到政府惩罚。但是,如同问题 3 的解释, SSA 并不要求雇主纠正信息不符合的问题。如果您的雇主确实不清楚自己的责任,您或您的权益争取者也许能够向雇主说明 SSA 不符合信函的目的,并指出SSA 不要求雇主仅仅因为不符合信函就采取任何行动。给雇主的说明函样本请见

    有时,雇主坚持要求雇员提供纠正的信息,是为了威胁他们或报复他们,因为他们之前曾经行使他们的雇用法权利。如同以上问题4 的说明,雇主可能同时威胁向移民当局举报工作者。在这种情况下,工作者应该记录雇主作出的威胁及坚持要求纠正信息的情况、雇员的工作场所权利投诉、以及相关的工作场所问题。他们也可以给雇主一封信 [link to different sample letter],解释不符合信函与雇员的工作许可无关,也禁止雇主对工作者采取行动。雇员也可以联络律师 (移民律师或工作场所权利律师),取得后续步骤的建议以及相关的风险。雇员也可以联络工作者权利组织和工作者权利中心,他们可以帮助工作者探讨选择,并可能采取集体行动以保护和主张工作者权利。

    在以上情况下,如果您属于工会,您应该联络工会,工会也许能够协助和保护您,免于任何负面行动。

    如果您想要讨论您的个别情况和后续步骤,您可以联络 Legal Aid at Work/劳工法律中心,电话号码800-864-1664。

    7. 如果我认为雇主可能向 ICE 举报我,我应该怎么做?

    如果您是无证工作者,您应该联络移民律师以及雇用法专家,讨论您的选项和风险。虽然您属于无证,法律保护您免遭这样的报复。应该注意的是,您的雇主应该了解,因为雇员行使工作场所权利而向 ICE 举报,即属违反联邦和加州法律。而且在加州,雇主仅仅是威胁这样做就已经违法。

    如果雇主因为雇员投诉工作条件就向ICE 举报,则可能遭受严厉的惩罚,包括吊销营业执照 (在加州)。遭到威胁、或者实际遭到报复的雇员也可能获得补发工资以及损失赔偿。雇主无需仅仅因为不符合信函就采取行动,这一事实对雇员的立场有利。

    8. 有哪些对我可能有帮助的资源?

© 2019 Legal Aid at Work. All rights reserved
Legal Aid at Work, 180 Montgomery Street, Suite 600, San Francisco CA 94104 / 415-864-8848

SSA No-Match Letter

    1. WHAT IS A SOCIAL SECURITY ADMINISTRATION “NO-MATCH LETTER”?

    The Social Security Administration (“SSA”) sends “no-match letters”[1] to businesses when their employees’ names and Social Security numbers (“SSNs”) don’t exactly match those in the SSA’s files, based on information the SSA gets each year from the employer. There are many possible reasons for a “no-match.” For example, an employee’s name might have changed because of marriage or divorce, there may be a typographical error, discrepancies may have occurred because of different customs around the use of surnames, or the employer’s records may simply have mistakes in them.

    SSA no-match letters are supposed to serve a good purpose. They are meant to ensure that all of an employee’s earnings are actually credited to their Social Security account, so their SSA benefits will be as large as possible when they begin using them, for example when they retire or become disabled. (Undocumented workers are not eligible for Social Security.) Importantly, as these letters themselves say, they do NOT indicate anything about an employee’s immigration status or work authorization.

    For sample SSA no-match letters and related information provided by the SSA, see https://www.ssa.gov/employer/notices.html.

     

    [1] There are different types of “no-match letters.” This fact sheet is only about the type of no-match letter sent to employers by the SSA, also known as an “Employer Correction Request Notice”.

    2. WHAT DOES IT MEAN IF MY EMPLOYER GETS A NO-MATCH LETTER?

    If your employer receives an SSA no-match letter, it means the name and SSN of at least one employee at your workplace do not match SSA’s records. The letter does not name those employees, although an employer can learn their identities using an online SSA service.

    If your employer received a no-match letter, it does not mean that the identified employees are undocumented. It also does not mean that federal immigration authorities have contacted your employer.  The SSA does not enforce immigration laws.

    3. WHAT SHOULD MY EMPLOYER DO WHEN IT GETS A NO-MATCH LETTER?

    Your employer should notify you of the mismatch issue.

    The SSA asks employers to check whether they made a typographical error when they provided it their information about you.  If there are no such errors, then your employer should ask you to review its records to see whether they contain an error in your name or social security number.  If that is not the case, then your employer should ask you to check with a local SSA office to resolve the issue.  If it is not possible to fix the no-match issue, according to the SSA, the employer is not required to take any further action.[1]

     

    [1]      https://www.ssa.gov/employer/notices/EDCOR%20Letter%20-%20Final%20-%20Attachment%20-%209-16-19_508.pdf, at 3 (“If you are unable to resolve the mismatch using these tips, you will not be able to correct the corresponding error at this time. There is no need to take any further action.”).

    4. WHAT SHOULD MY EMPLOYER NOT DO WHEN IT GETS A NO-MATCH LETTER?

    Your employer should not take any adverse action against you, such as suspending or firing you, just because it received a no-match letter.  The letter itself states:

    Do not take adverse action against an employee, such as laying off, suspending, firing, or discriminating against that individual, just because this letter identifies a mismatch between his or her SSN or name as reported to us. Those actions could violate state or federal law and subject you to legal consequences.[1]

    Also, your employer cannot use the letter as an excuse to threaten adverse immigration actions against you or other workers (for example, by threatening to report you to Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE)) or to retaliate against workers who have tried to exercise their legal rights.  Employers also generally cannot use a no-match letter as a basis to reverify workers’ work authorization documents.

     

    [1]      https://www.ssa.gov/employer/notices/EDCOR%20Letter%20-%20Final%209-16-19508.docx.pdf

    5. WHAT SHOULD I DO IF MY EMPLOYER SAYS I HAVE TO CORRECT MY NAME OR SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER BASED ON A NO-MATCH LETTER?

    The answer to this question depends upon each individual situation. Here are some general tips to consider:

    A good first step is to ask your employer for a copy of the no-match letter and the report from the SSA identifying you as an employee with a no-match issue.  If your employer refuses to do so, it is possible the employer has not actually received a no-match letter.

    If you are in a union, you should immediately contact your union to discuss the best next steps.  Employers are required to bargain with unions about how they respond to no-match letters, and your union can act to protect you and other workers from adverse actions based on them.

    If you are not in a union, or your union will not assist you with this issue, you should let your employer know you will look into this issue and notify it of any corrections to your information.  If you are able to fix the no-match issue, notify your employer of any necessary corrections to your name or SSN.  If you are not able to correct the no-match issue, however, you do not need to do anything further.

    If you would like to discuss your individual situation and potential next steps, you can contact our office, Legal Aid at Work, at 800-864-1664.

    6. WHAT IF I CANNOT CORRECT THE NO-MATCH ISSUE AND MY EMPLOYER KEEPS INSISTING THAT I DO SO?

    In some cases, employers may continue to insist that an employee provide corrected name or SSN information, even after an employee has said they will look into the issue and notify the employer of any necessary corrections.

    Some employers may be genuinely confused about what they have to do in response to an SSA no-match letter, and assume—wrongly—that they must correct the discrepancies, or that the government will punish them if they do not do so.  As explained above in Question 3, however, the SSA does not require employers to correct the mismatched information. If your employer is genuinely confused about its obligations, you or an advocate might be able to educate your employer about the purpose of SSA no-match letters, and point out that SSA does not require them to take any actions because of those letters. A sample letter to be given to such employers can be found here.

    Sometimes, an employer insists that employees provide corrected information as a way to intimidate them or to retaliate against them because they had previously asserted their employment rights.  As noted in Question 4 above, employers may do so while threatening to report workers to immigration authorities.  In such situations, workers should keep notes and documentation about the employer’s threats and demands for corrected information, employees’ complaints about workplace rights, and related issues in the workplace. They may also wish to provide the employer with a letter explaining that no-match letters say nothing about an employee’s work authorization, and forbid the employer from taking action against workers. Employees may wish to contact legal counsel—immigration lawyers as well as workplace rights lawyers–to seek advice about what steps they might take, and any risks that could result.  Employees may also want to contact workers’ rights organizers and worker centers that can support the workers in exploring their options and, potentially, in taking collective action to protect and assert their rights.

    In either of the above situations, if you belong to a union, you should contact your union in case it is able to become involved and protect you from any adverse actions.

    If you would like to discuss your individual situation and potential next steps, you can contact Legal Aid at Work at 800-864-1664.

    7. WHAT SHOULD I DO IF I THINK MY EMPLOYER MAY REPORT ME TO ICE?

    If you are undocumented, you should contact an immigration lawyer, as well as employment law experts, to discuss your options and their risks. Even though you are undocumented, the law protects you against retaliation of this kind. It is important to note—and your employer should be warned—that reporting employees to ICE because they have exercised their workplace rights violates both federal and California law. In California, moreover, it is specifically unlawful for an employer to even threaten to do so.

    Employers who report their workers to ICE because they have objected to their working conditions may suffer severe penalties, including (in California) suspension of their business licenses. Employees who have been threatened in this manner, or have actually suffered retaliation, may also recover any lost wages and damages. The fact that there are no requirements for employers to take action based on a no-match letter may only strengthen the case against them.

    8. WHAT OTHER RESOURCES MIGHT BE HELPFUL TO ME?