高等教育中的残障

    有哪些法律保护在高等院校、大学、专科学校、职业学校、网上学校以及职业技术学校里有残疾的学生?

    有两个法律禁止在高等教育机构里的残障歧视。美国残疾人法案》(ADA)禁止在所有的公立和私立学校基于残障的歧视,除了宗教机构所营办的学校。《康复法案》第504条禁止在任何学校的此类歧视,包括接受联邦基金的教会附属学校,比如接受学生财政援助贷款计划的教会学校。这两部法律为有残障的学生及入学申请人都提供类似的保护。

    在加州,残障学生和申请人也受以下法律的保护:《Unruh民权法案》(Unruh Act)(私立学校)、《加州政府法典》第11135条(Section 11135)(公立学校)、以及《加州民法》第54条(Section 54)(包括公立及私立学校)。在一般情况下,任何违反ADA或第504条的情形也违反《Unruh民权法案》、第11135条、或第54条,但这些加州法律可能会在某些情况下提供更多的保护。

    谁会受到ADA、第504条、《加州Unruh民权法案》、第54条、以及第11135条的保护?

    根据ADA或第504条, 如果某人具有生理心理障碍而其某一主要生命活动受到严重限制的话,那么此人就是“残障的”。根据《Unruh民权法案》以及其他加州法律,如果某人具有生理心理障碍而对其某项主要生命活动有所限制的话,那么此人就是“残障的”。把这个定义分解一下会对理解有所帮助:

    “主要生命活动”包括:

    • 做手工工作
    • 性关系
    • 睡眠
    • 呼吸
    • 身体机能
    • 站立
    • 阅读
    • 集中注意力
    • 行走
    • 照顾自己
    • 学习
    • 思考
    • 生育
    • 与人交往
    • 工作

    如果某种障碍使得从事某项主要生命活动更加困难,那么它就限制了该主要的生命活动。如果与大多数人相比,某种障碍限制了某个人从事某个主要生命活动的能力,那么该障碍可能对此人构成严重限制

    如果通过使用药物或使用假肢而使我的情况稳定下来又怎样呢?

    据加州法律和修订的ADA,残疾不论是否有“缓解措施”、如药物治疗、假肢、辅助技术、或使用其他装置及方法以减轻病症都要加以考虑。这意味着,有生理或精神病症的人即使由于药物或治疗而目前病况稳定,他们仍然受到保护。

    还有哪些其他人也受到保护?

    ADA及504条还保护那些并没有残疾、但被人认为有残障因而受到歧视的人。同时受到保护的还有有残障记录或历史的人。此外,FEHA《Unruh法案》,第11135条和第54条还保护那些目前没有残疾,但在将来可能成为残障人士的人。

    如果我有残障,我有什么样的权益?

    据联邦及加州法律,学校不可以歧视有残疾的合资格的学生和入学申请人。这意味着,如果你有残障并且符合学校录取或参加学校课程的学业标准或其他标准,那么学校就不可以把你与其他的学生区别对待—仅仅因为你的残障而拒绝录取你或给你注册、给你不良的成绩、使你不及格、停学、开除、或对你骚扰。合格的残疾学生也可以得到合理的便利条件以使他们能够参与学校的各项计划项目。

    一般来说,学校必须确保所有的计划项目、服务、活动和设施都能够方便残障人参加使用。此外,学校不可以因为你要求提供便利条件或以其他方式要求行使你的权利而对你加以报复。

    什么是合理的便利条件?

    合理的便利条件是指对某项学校政策的调整或修改、或为有残疾的学生提供某些具体的支持或服务,使得学生能够参与学校各个计划项目,包括入学、学业、职业教育、网上和遥距教育课程、住房、体育、运动、娱乐、课外活动、交通、咨询、医疗保险(包括生理和精神残疾)、和财务援助。

    某项特别便利条件的要求是否合理取决于该学校项目的情况和类型。然而,该便利条件不可以是对学校过于昂贵或有破坏性的,也不可以是仅仅为了该学生的个人使用。学生有权拒绝某项特别的便利条件。

    对学校政策进行修改的例子包括:

    • 不对论文或考试的拼写错误加以处罚。
    • 允许用其他课程替代某些必修课程或规定先修课程。
    • 允许额外时间去考试或交论文。
    • 用替代方式给与考试。
    • 以可获取的格式提供网上及遥距教育课程视频
    • 允许减轻的课程负担和额外的时间来获得学位。
    • 为学生的护理员提供住宿。
    • 重新分配教室到残疾人可进入的地点。
    • 协助申请财物援助。

    可提供给某学生的支持或服务项目包括:

    • 口译员
    • 记笔记人
    • 录影/录音的课本
    • 阅读人
    • 视频文字显示
    • 有声计算器
    • 盲文计算器,打印机,或打字机
    • 电话听筒声音放大器
    • 可开关字幕解码器
    • 固定字幕和可开关字幕电视
    • 语音合成器
    • 特种健身器材
    • 线条隆起的绘图工具包
    • 助听装置或系统
    • 电传打字机
    • 为运输和调较教育设施提供协助
    • 图书馆用延伸够取装置

    学校不可以向学生收取这些支持和服务的费用。虽然学校可以通过帮助学生向某外部的组织(如加州康复局)获得补偿款而支付这些费用。

    在高等教育环境里获得支持或服务的过程中可能会不同于在小学、初中和高中。在小学里的有个人化教育计划(IEP)的学生与家长、学校管理人、教师和专家共同分担责任以指出残疾并获取支持(有时学生根本不会参与)。然而,在高等学校中,学生本人要负主要责任去指出并记录自身的残疾,并要求提供具体的支持、服务、和其他便利条件以满足其需求。

    什么时候学校必须为某个学生或申请人提供便利条件?

    学校只需要为已知的残疾提供便利条件。把残疾的情况通知学校并没有一个特定的方式,而学校可能通过暗示的方式表示其了解残障的情况。然而,为了确保得到便利条件的合法权利,您应当事先说明你的残疾 – 而不是在因你没有得到所需的便利条件而成绩低下以后才去说明。

    如果我需要合理的便利条件,我要跟谁说?

    一般来说,高等学校设有残障学生办公室以处理学生提出的便利条件要求;例如在加州,所有的社区学院都有残障学生计划与服务办公室(DSPS)来处理对便利条件的申请。不论是否如此,残障学生也可以与学校的ADA 或504条协调员、学生事务主任、学业顾问、或者某位老师交谈以说明残障并要求得到便利条件。

    我必须说什么来让学校知道我需要合理的便利条件?

    你必须给学校提供足够的信息以显示你有某种障碍,以及该障碍对某一主要生命活动的 影响。为了保险起见,你应该使用诸如“残障”、“障碍”、“限制”、“主要生命活动”和“便利条件”之类的词。你不需要告诉学校有关残障的所有细节或者透露医生的诊断。

    我需要以书面形式请求便利条件么?

    不需要。但是,如果你的残障或你对便利条件的需要并不明显,你的学校可以要求合理的医疗文件记录。文件应仅限于医生的证明或其他文件,如化验结果或从小学以来的诊断报告,证明你有残疾并需要便利条件。你并需要出示你的整个医疗或心理健康病历。

    我是否需要公开我的病历来获得便利条件?

    不需要。但是,如果你的残障或你对便利条件的需要并不明显,你的学校可以要求合理的医疗文件记录。文件应仅限于医生的证明或其他文件,如化验结果或从小学以来的诊断报告,证明你有残疾并需要便利条件。你并需要出示你的整个医疗或心理健康病历。

    在我请求便利条件之后会怎样?

    一旦你请求某项便利条件,学校必须作出合理的努力去确定合适的便利条件是什么。但是,您也必须愿意参与制定和实施便利条件的过程。那些不去充分参与这个的过程的学生可能会失去自己的权利。这种参与可能会要求学生提交所要求的医疗文件并出席计划好的会议。如果学校或学生拒绝某项建议的便利条件,学生必须采取措施去继续这一进程。

    为了保护你的权利,你要采取积极措施,例如:

    • 以书面形式向学校提出便利条件的请求;
    • 建议一些替代的便利条件;
    • 与学校官员安排会议并参加会议以讨论便利条件;
    • 把那些与你讨论便利条件的人的名字记下来,也记下来你与他们谈话的日期和时间;
    • 所有有关你的残障及教育的文件都要保留一份, 包括任何你寄给学校的信或从学校收到的信件。

    如果某位教授告诉我我不可以拥有我所需要的便利条件怎么办呢?

    有时教授们不理解残障学生必须有某些便利条件才可以在课堂上充分参与。即使教授担心她的演讲被录音,她可能必须要允许录音才能让有视力障碍的学生从课程中受益。即使教授对允许额外的考试时间而感到不安,她可能必须允许某个需要额外的时间去处理讯息的学生得到这额外的时间。如果你的教授拒绝让你使用你所需要的便利条件,或对你使用它表示“不满”,请联系残障学生办公室、学生事务主任、或你的指导老师去请他们与教授谈话。

    如果我需要便利条件申请学校会怎样?

    学校必须修改入学考试以使得考试成绩准确地反映你的能力、知识、或成就水平–而不是反映你的残障。在招生过程中学校不可以问你是否有残疾而且需要某项便利条件。另外,学院委员会 college board不能够向大学透露某个学生在考SAT、PSAT或者其他高考入学试时接受了便利安排。如果你需要某项合理的便利条件才能填好入学表格,可以向学校招生办公室或者残疾学生办公室提出要求。

    如果校园令人难以进入该怎么办呢?

    根据法律规定,所有学校都必须使其所有项目计划、服务、及活动以最完整的适当安排允许残障学生参与使用。学校可以通过使其所有的建筑设施都方便残疾人进入,或重新分配学生或项目计划到残疾人可方便进入的建筑设施内来做到这一点。 此外,所有新校舍都应完全方便残疾人进入。为了使建筑设施或建筑设施的一部分方便残疾人进入,学校应该:

    • 安装坡道
    • 在人行道或出入口去除马路牙子
    • 重新摆放架子
    • 重新排列桌子、椅子、和自动售货机
    • 拓宽门道
    • 去除旋转门
    • 在礼堂安装指定的无障碍轮椅座位
    • 在电梯中添加盲文标签
    • 在厕所安装扶手
    • 重新排列厕所分隔以增加回旋空间
    • 将厕所管道绝缘
    • 安装提高的的马桶座安装一个全身长的浴室镜子
    • 划出指定的残疾人停车位
    • 维护电梯
    • 安装自动开门器
    • 安装可视报警器提供电传打字机
    • 确保学校网站和课程管理系统可以进入

    如果你觉得你的教学楼、宿舍、图书馆、学生中心、学校网站、或其他学校的设施残疾人无法进入,请与残障学生办公室或学生事务主任联系。

    如果大学拒绝给我提供我需要的便利条件、或因为我的残障歧视我,我能做些什么呢?

    如果你的学校拒绝提供你所需要的合理便利条件、未能解决残疾人方便进入的问题、或因为你的残障而以其他的方式歧视你,你可以:

    • 在向学校提交一份内部的怨屈申诉或投诉。向美国教育部民权办公室(OCR)提出投诉。
    (http://www.ed.gov/print/about/offices/list/ocr/docs/howto.html)
    • 向美国司法部(DOJ)投诉。(http://www.ada.gov/enforce.htm#anchor218282)
    • 直接与学校或调解员协商, 尝试用非正式的方式解决事情。
    • 提起法律诉讼:你可以在联邦或加州法院提起诉讼。如果你只寻求金钱赔偿(7500元以下)的话,可以在小额法庭提告。不管你是否有向学校、民权办公室、或者司法部提出投诉,你都可以提起法律诉讼。

DISCLAIMER

这份文件试图为大家提供准确、简明的有关就业方面的加州法律常识。不过,由于法律以及法律程序经常变化以及解释不同,Legal Aid At Work 劳工法律中心不能保证文件的内容是最新的,也不能为内容运用的结果负责。读者不应依赖文件提供的资料。你应该就个人的特殊情况,向律师或者有关机构查询。
© 2019 Legal Aid at Work. All rights reserved
Legal Aid at Work, 180 Montgomery Street, Suite 600, San Francisco CA 94104 / 415-864-8848

Disabilities in Higher Education

    What laws protect students with disabilities at colleges, universities, junior colleges, professional schools, online schools, and trade and technical schools?

    There are two federal laws that prohibit disability discrimination at higher education institutions. The Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) prohibits discrimination based on disability at all public and private schools, except for schools run by religious institutions. Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act (Section 504) prohibits such discrimination at any school, including a church-affiliated school that receives federal funds, such as student financial aid loan programs. These two laws provide similar protections to both students and applicants with disabilities.

    In California, students and applicants with disabilities are also protected by the Unruh Civil Rights Act (Unruh Act) (private schools), California Government Code Section 11135 (Section 11135) (public schools), and California Civil Code Section 54 (Section 54) (both public and private schools). Generally, any violation of the ADA or Section 504 is also a violation of the Unruh Act, Section 11135, or Section 54, but these state laws may provide greater protections in some cases. All of these laws apply to online and distance education courses provided by public and private schools.

    Who is protected by the ADA, Section 504, California's Unruh Act, Section 54, and Section 11135?

    A person with a physical or mental impairment that substantially limits a major life activity is “disabled” under the ADA or Section 504. A person with a physical or mental impairment that limits a major life activity is “disabled” under the Unruh Act and other California state laws. It is helpful to break down this definition into its parts: “Major life activities” include:

    • Seeing
    • Hearing
    • Speaking
    • Performing manual tasks
    • Sexual relations
    • Sleeping
    • Breathing
    • Bodily functions
    • Standing
    • Reading
    • Concentrating
    • Walking
    • Caring for oneself
    • Learning
    • Thinking
    • Reproduction
    • Interacting with others
    • Working

    An impairment limits a major life activity if it makes achieving the activity more difficult. An impairment may be substantially limiting if it restricts an individual’s ability to perform a major life activity compared to most people.

    What if my condition is stabilized with medication or I use a prosthetic device?

    Under California law and the amended ADA, a disability is considered without regard to “mitigating measures” such as medication, prosthetics, assistive technology, or other devices or strategies used to help manage the effects of the condition. This means that people with physical or mental conditions who are currently stable due to medications or treatment are still protected.

    Who else is protected?

    The ADA and Section 504 also protect people who are discriminated against because they are regarded or perceived as having a disability, even if they do not. Also protected are persons with a record or history of a disability. In addition, the Unruh Act, Section 11135, and Section 54 protect persons who are not currently disabled, but who may become disabled in the future.

    What are my rights if I have a disability?

    Under federal and state law, schools cannot discriminate against qualified students and applicants with disabilities. This means that if you have a disability and meet academic or other standards for admission to or participation in school programs, you cannot be treated differently—denied admission or enrollment, graded poorly, failed, suspended, expelled, or harassed—because of your disability. Qualified students with disabilities may also obtain reasonable accommodations so that they can participate in school programs. Generally, schools are required to ensure that all of their programs, services, activities, and facilities are accessible to persons with disabilities. Further, you may not be retaliated against for asking for an accommodation or otherwise asserting your rights.

    What is a reasonable accommodation?

    Reasonable accommodations are adjustments or modifications made to a school policy, or specific supports or services provided to a student with a disability, that enable the student to participate in school programs, including admissions, academics, vocational education, online and distance education courses, housing, physical education, athletics, recreation, extracurricular activities, transportation, counseling, health insurance (covering both physical and psychiatric disabilities), and financial aid.

    Whether a particular accommodation request is reasonable depends upon the situation and the type of program. The accommodation, however, may not be unduly costly or disruptive for the school, or be for the student’s personal use only. A student has the right to refuse a particular accommodation.

    Examples of modifications of school policies include:

    • Not assessing penalties for spelling errors on papers or exams;
    • Allowing substitutions for certain required or prerequisite courses;
    • Allowing extra time on exams or to turn in assignments;
    • Providing exams in an alternate format;
    • Providing online and distance education course videos in an accessible format;
    • Allowing a reduced course load and extra time in which to earn a degree;
    • Providing housing accommodations for a student’s attendant;
    • Reassigning a classroom to an accessible location;
    • Providing assistance in applying for financial aid.

    Examples of supports or services that may be provided to a student include:

    • Interpreters;
    • Notetakers;
    • Taped texts;
    • Readers;
    • Videotext displays;
    • Talking calculators;
    • Braille calculators, printers, or typewriters;
    • Telephone handset amplifiers;
    • Closed caption decoders;
    • Open and closed caption TV;
    • Voice synthesizers;
    • Specialized gym equipment;
    • Raised-line drawing kits;
    • Assistive listening devices or systems;
    • TTYs or TTDs;
    • Assistance with transporting and manipulating educational equipment;
    • Reaching device for library use.

    Students may not be charged for these supports and services, although the school may pay for them by helping a student obtain reimbursement from an outside organization, such as a state rehabilitation agency. The process of obtaining supports or services in higher education settings may be different from that in elementary, middle, and high school. A student with a disability who has an Individualized Education Plan (IEP) in grade school shares responsibility—and sometimes does not participate much at all—for identifying and obtaining services or supports with parents, school administrators, teachers, and specialists. In postsecondary schools, however, the student has the primary responsibility for identifying and documenting her disability and requesting specific supports, services, and other accommodations to meet her needs.

    When is a school required to accommodate a student or applicant?

    A school is only required to accommodate known disabilities. There is no one specific way for a student to notify a school about a disability, and the school’s knowledge of the disability may be implied. To guarantee the legal right to an accommodation, however, you should disclose your disability—before your performance suffers because you do not have the accommodation(s) you need.

    Who do I talk to if I need a reasonable accommodation?

    Generally, postsecondary schools have Offices for Students with Disabilities which process requests for accommodations; in California, for example, all community colleges have Disabled Students Programs and Services (DSPS) offices that handle accommodations requests. Whether or not this is the case, a student with a disability can also speak with the school’s ADA or Section 504 Coordinator, the Dean of Student Affairs, an academic advisor, or a teacher to disclose a disability and ask for an accommodation.

    What do I have to say to let the school know I need a reasonable accommodation?

    You must provide the school with enough information to show the existence of an impairment, and its impact on a major life activity. To be safe, you should use words such as “disability,” “impairment,” “limiting,” “major life activities,” and “accommodation.” You do not necessarily need to tell the school all the details of the disability or disclose your diagnosis.

    Do I have to request an accommodation in writing?

    No. While you can request an accommodation in writing, you can also request one orally, through e-mail, or by any other form of communication. Also, it is a good idea to keep a record of your request in case there is a dispute in the future over whether or when you made the request.

    Do I have to release my medical records to obtain accommodations?

    No. If your disability or your need for accommodation is not obvious, however, your school may ask for reasonable medical documentation. The documentation should be limited to a doctor’s note or other documents, such as test results or diagnostic reports from grade school, showing that you have a disability and need accommodation. You are not required to produce your entire medical or mental health history.

    What happens after I request an accommodation?

    Once you request an accommodation, the school must make a reasonable effort to determine the appropriate accommodation. However, you must also be willing to participate in the process of developing and implementing the accommodation. Students who do not fully participate in the process may lose their rights. This participation may require the student to submit requested medical documentation and to attend scheduled meetings. If the school or student rejects a suggested accommodation, the student must take steps to continue the process. To protect your rights, take proactive steps, such as:

    • Presenting accommodation requests to the school in writing;
    • Suggesting alternative accommodations;
    • Scheduling and attending meetings with school officials to discuss accommodations;
    • Writing down the names of people you speak to about accommodations, and also the dates and times you talk to them;
    • Keeping copies of all documents relating to your disability and education, including any letters you send to or receive from your school.

    What if a professor tells me I can't have the accommodation I need?

    Sometimes professors don’t understand that accommodations are necessary so that students with disabilities can participate fully in class. Even if the professor is concerned about having her lecture taped, she may have to permit taping to allow a student with visual impairments to benefit from a course. Even if a professor is uncomfortable with permitting extra time for examinations, she may have to allow a student who needs extra time for processing information to have it. If your professor refuses to let you use the accommodation you need, or gives you “attitude” about using it, contact the Office for Students with Disabilities, the Dean of Student Affairs, or your faculty advisor to ask them to speak with the professor.

    What if I need an accommodation to apply to the school?

    The school must modify admissions tests so that test results accurately reflect your aptitude, knowledge, or achievement level—not your disability. The school cannot ask you if you have a disability and need an accommodation during the admissions process. Additionally, the College Board may not indicate to colleges or universities that a student received an accommodation on the SAT, PSAT, or any Advanced Placement Tests. If you need a reasonable accommodation to complete admissions forms, ask the school admissions office or Office for Students with Disabilities.

    What if the campus is inaccessible?

    By law, all schools have to make all their programs, services, and activities accessible to students with disabilities, in the most integrated setting appropriate. Schools can do this by making all of their facilities accessible, or by reassigning students or programs to accessible facilities. Additionally, all new school buildings should be completely accessible. To make a facility or part of a facility accessible, schools should:

    • Install ramps
    • Make curb cuts in sidewalks and entrances
    • Reposition shelves
    • Rearrange tables, chairs, and vending machines
    • Widen doorways
    • Eliminate turnstiles
    • Install designated accessible wheelchair seating in auditoriums
    • Add Braille in elevators
    • Install grab bars at toilets
    • Rearrange toilet partitions to increase maneuvering space
    • Insulate lavatory pipes
    • Install a raised toilet seat
    • Install a full-length bathroom mirror
    • Create designated accessible parking spaces
    • Maintain elevators
    • Install automatic door openers
    • Install visual alarms
    • Provide TTYs and TTDs
    • Ensure that school websites and course management systems are accessible

    If you think your classroom building, dormitory, library, student center, school website, or other school facilities are inaccessible, contact your Office for Students with Disabilities or Dean of Student Affairs.

    What can I do if my college refuses to give me the accommodations I need, or discriminates against me because of my disability?

    If your school refuses to provide you with the reasonable accommodation you need, fails to address access problems, or otherwise discriminates against you because of your disability, you can:

    • File an internal grievance or complaint with the school.
    • File a complaint with the Office for Civil Rights (OCR) of the U.S. Department of Education.
    • File a complaint with the U.S. Department of Justice (DOJ).
    • Try to resolve things informally, by negotiating directly with the school or with a mediator.
    • File a lawsuit: You can file a lawsuit in federal or state court. If you seek money damages only (under $5000), you can file a complaint in small claims court. You can file a lawsuit regardless of whether you have filed a complaint with the school, OCR, or DOJ.

DISCLAIMER

This Fact Sheet is intended to provide accurate, general information regarding legal rights relating to employment in California. Yet because laws and legal procedures are subject to frequent change and differing interpretations, Legal Aid at Work cannot ensure the information in this Fact Sheet is current nor be responsible for any use to which it is put. Do not rely on this information without consulting an attorney or the appropriate agency about your rights in your particular situation.