加班費豁免資格

超时工资法律以及一些其他的工资和雇用权益,例如用餐时间和工间休息,不适用于某些类型的雇员。这些雇员被称为“豁免雇员”;即使他们一天工作超过8小时或一周工作超过40小时,都不会得到超时工资。被超时工资法律豁免的雇员一般来说在公司内有较多的职责,并对公司的运作拥有较大的权力。但是,仅仅因为雇主把雇员划分为豁免,或者雇主授予雇员某个职位 (例如助理经理),或者雇主按星期或月支付雇员工资,并不意味着这个雇员就一定是法律下的豁免雇员。

    1. 我要赚多少钱才能够被归类为豁免雇员?

    要被归类为豁免雇员,您需要至少赚得最低工资 2 倍的工资。州超时工资法律不适用于某些被认为是专业、经理、管理、或行政类别的雇员。这些工人被称为豁免雇员。要在加州法律之下被归类为这些豁免雇员,工资水平必须至少是全职工作最低工资的2倍。(法律界将此称为基本工资规则)。下面的表格显示了在加州被正确地归类为豁免雇员、您必须每年赚得的最低工资 (取决于年份及公司雇员人数)。如果您的工资低于这里列出的金额,您就不是豁免雇员,超时工资法律适用于您。如果您的工资高于这里列出的金额,雇主仍然需要证明您属于问题 2 到问题 4 讨论的类别之一,您才不会受到超时工资及其他工资/工时的保护。

    年份 适用于员工人数25或更少的雇主 适用于员工人数26或更多的雇主
    2021 $54,080.00 $58,240.00
    2022 $58,240.00 $62,400.00
    2023 $62,400.00 待定

    2. 我是否是一名豁免专业类雇员?

    作为一名豁免的专业类雇员,您的工资必须至少是州最低工资的两倍。(参见问题1。)

    专业类雇员还必须将至少一半的工作时间用于通常被认为是“学术或艺术专业”的领域,或者一半的工作时间用于以下持照或认证职业:

    • 验光师;
    • 律师 (在某些情况下包括法学院毕业生、但是一般不包括法律助理);
    • 建筑师;
    • 医生 (不包括护士);
    • 工程师;
    • 牙医 (一般不包括洁牙师);
    • 教师;或
    • 会计师 (只包括注册会计师)。

     

    一个工作职位要被视为“学术或艺术专业”,雇员必须通常已获得一个专业的大学学位,或已通过其他路径进行学习。如果工作在性质上是原发的和创造性的,而且主要依靠雇员自己的创造、想像或才能,那么这份工作可能是豁免的。一些高科技和电脑行业的雇员属于这个类别。这类豁免雇员是是非常有限的,因此不要因为自己的工作涉及一些创造性,就假定自己的职位属于“学术或艺术专业”。

    除了职位属于这些专业类别以外,您还必须常规地在重大事项上行使酌情权和独立判断力,才能被豁免。

    3. 我是否是一名豁免行政类雇员?

    作为一名豁免的行政类雇员,您的工资必须至少是州最低工资的两倍。(参见问题 1。) 同时也要能够对以下两个问题回答“是”:

    • 您是否在公司的重要事务方面常规地被允许作出独立决定、无需直接监督 (这意味着您做的工作关乎公司的重要政策或业务决定)?
    • 您的一半以上工作时间是否用于对公司管理有重大意义的行政事务上?

    此外,您必须能够对以下问题之一回答“是”:

    • 您是否经常地和直接地协助公司老板或其他经理或行政人员?
    • 您的工作是否需要特别的培训、经验或知识,而且无需直接监督或只需要很少的监督?
    • 您是否履行特别的任务,要求您作出影响公司的决定同时,接受的只是一般性的监督?

    4. 我是否是一名豁免的经理类或管理类雇员?

    作为一名豁免的经理类或管理类雇员,您的工资必须至少是州最低工资的两倍。(参见问题 1。)

    您必须能够对以下所有问题回答“是”:

    • 您是否将一半以上的工作时间用于管理公司的一个部门或分部,或做经理性质的工作 (经理性质的工作包括分派任务给他人、监督他人的工作、评估其他雇员的工作、作出工作计划、确定用于完成工作任务的技术、保留记录、处理申诉、以及控制商品或用料的流动)?
    • 您是否在公司的重要事务方面常规地可以作出独立决定、无需直接监督 (这意味着您做的工作关乎公司的重要政策或业务决定)?
    • 您是否直接监督两名或更多全职雇员的工作?(监督必须是您常规职责的一部分,而不是主管不在时临时行使职责。)
    • 您是否作出聘用和解雇雇员的建议,并且在公司内有足够的权力以至于您的建议会得到慎重考虑?

    如果您对以上任何问题回答“否”,您就不能被归类为豁免的经理类或管理类雇员。

    5. 如果我为自己的家人工作,是否有权得到超时工资?

    不一定。如果您直接为配偶、父母或子女工作,您无权获得超时工资。其他的关系较近亲属 (例如叔舅、姨姑、兄弟姐妹) 则获得法律的完全保护,因此有权得到超时工资。

    重要的是,如果您为您的配偶、父母或子女拥有的有限公司或有限责任公司 (LLC) 工作,您就有权得到超时工资,因为您的雇主是公司而不是个人。

    6. 我是一名工会会员,我是否有权得到超时工资?

    是的,但有不同的规则。如果您是一名工会会员,超时工作的规则可能因为您的集体谈判协议 (有时被称为CBA) 的条款而有所不同。如果您的集体谈判协议 (1) 规定额外工资 (超过正常工资率、但是可能低于1.5倍),以及 (2) 规定公司范围最低工资比州最低工资高至少30%,则雇主可能不需要因为您一天工作超过8小时而支付超时工资。但是,如果您一周工作超过40小时,雇主仍然需要向您支付超时工资。如果您是工会会员,并且有关于超时工资的疑问,您通常可以从工会那里取得关于超时工资规则的信息。

    7. 我是一名农场杂工,我是否有权获得超时工资?

    是的,但是不同的规则适用于从事农业种植、牛羊养殖、以及大部分其他农业产品生产的农业工人  (大麻业除外)。在从事这些工作时,如果你在加州,为员工人数26或更多的雇主工作,在2022年之前适用的是不同的超时工资规矩;如果是为员工人数25或更少的雇主工作,那么在2025年之前适用的是不同的超时工资规矩。在目前,超时工资规则取决于雇主公司的规模。

    年份 适用于员工人数25或更少的雇主的超时工资规则 适用于员工人数26或更多的雇主的超时工资规则
    2021 一天工作10小时或一周工作60小时之后开始支付超时工资 一天工作8.5小时或一周工作45小时之后开始支付超时工资
    2022 一天工作9.5小时或一周工作55小时之后开始支付超时工资 适用正常的超时工资规则 (一天工作8小时或一周工作40小时之后开始支付超时工资)
    2023 一天工作9小时或一周工作50小时之后开始支付超时工资
    2024 一天工作8.5小时或一周工作45小时之后开始支付超时工资

     

    适用这些特别规则的农业工人通常有资格为同一个工作周第7个连续工作日的工作时间获得超时工资,并且在同一个工作周第7个连续工作日工作8小时之后开始获得双倍工资。

    这些特别规矩不是涵盖所有农业工人的。正常的超时工资规则适用于那些从事在农作物收割之后分散、包装、加工、挑选和处理农产品的工人。而且,在大麻业工作的工人不被视为农业工人,因此有权获得正常的超时工资。

    8. 我是一名家政工人,我是否有资格获得超时工资?

    家政工人有资格获得超时工资,但是适用于他们的的超时工资规则比较复杂,而并取决于多个因素,包括工人是否是“个人护理”,是否在被服务者家中工作,以及是否住在其家中。

    不住在他人家中而且不是个人护理的家政工人,有权在正常的超时工资规则下获得超时工资 (一天工作超过8小时或一周工作超过40小时即开始获得超时工资)。

    取决于实际情况,其他的家政工人可能在一周工作45小时或一天工作9小时之后才有资格获得超时工资。要了解更多情况,请查看加州家政工人同盟劳工标准执法处的网站。

    9. 我是一名货车司机,我有资格获得超时工资吗?

    很多货车司机被豁免加州和联邦超时工资法律的保护。例如,受到联邦机动车运输安全管理局 (FMCSA) 规管的货车司机不适用加州超时工资法律,也不适用关于用餐和工间休息的加州法律。如果司机的工作涉及州际商业活动,而且满足以下一项或多项类别,则归 FMCSA 管理:

    • 驾驶的车辆重量为10,001磅或更多
    • 驾驶按设计可以运输9至15名乘客的车辆换取报酬
    • 驾驶的车辆按设计可以运输16名或更多乘客
    • 驾驶的车辆用于运输有害物质

    受到加州公路警察 (CHP) 规管的货车司机也被豁免加州的超时工资法律。CHP 规管的车辆类型包括货运卡车、卡车车头、巴士、挂车、和重量超过 10,000 磅的商业机动车。

    如果您是一名货车司机并且想知道您是否受到加州超时工资法律的保护,请咨询律师意见。

Exemptions from Overtime Pay

Overtime laws and some other wage and workplace protections, like meal period and rest break laws, do not apply to certain types of employees. Those employees are known as “exempt,” and will not receive overtime pay, even if they work more than eight hours a day or more than forty hours a week. Employees who are exempt from (not covered by) overtime laws usually have a lot of responsibility within a company and have significant input into how that company is run. But employees are not exempt just because an employer says they are exempt or because the employer gives an employee a certain title (for example, “assistant manager”), or pays an employee by the week or month.

    1. How much do I need to make to be considered an exempt employee?

    To be an exempt employee, you need to make twice the minimum wage. State overtime laws do not cover certain employees who are considered “professional,” “managerial,” “executive,” or “administrative” employees. These workers are called “exempt” employees. To be an exempt employee under any of these categories under California law you must earn twice the minimum wage for full-time work. (Lawyers call this amount the “salary basis” test.) The following chart displays the minimum annual salary you must make per year in order to be properly classified as exempt in California, depending on the year and the size of your employer.  If you make less than the amount listed here, you are not exempt and overtime laws will apply to you.  If you make more than the amount listed here, your employer must also prove that you fall into one of the categories discussed in questions 2 through 4 in order for you to be exempt from overtime and other wage-and-hour protections.

    Year Salary basis test for employer with 25 or fewer employees Salary basis test for employer with 26 or more employees
    2021 $54,080.00 $58,240.00
    2022 $58,240.00 $62,400.00
    2023 $62,400.00 TBD

    2. Am I exempt as a professional employee?

    To be exempt from overtime protections as a professional employee, you must make twice the state minimum wage. (See question 1.)

    A professional employee must also either spend at least half of their hours doing work in a field that is commonly considered a “learned or artistic profession,” or spend half of their work time performing tasks in one of the following licensed or certified professions:

    • Optometry;
    • Law (in some circumstances including law school graduates but generally not paralegals);
    • Architecture;
    • Medicine (does not include nurses);
    • Engineering;
    • Dentistry (generally does not include dental hygienists);
    • Teaching; or
    • Accounting (includes only certified public accountants).

     

    For a job to be considered “learned or artistic profession,” the worker must usually have earned a specialized college degree or pursued other paths of intellectual study. A job may also be exempt if the work is original and creative in character and depend primarily on the worker’s own invention, imagination, or talent. Some high-tech and computer industry workers will fall into this category. This exception is very limited, so you should not assume you work in a “learned or artistic profession” just because your job involves some creativity.

    In addition to falling within one of these professional categories, in order to be exempt, you must customarily and regularly exercise discretion and independent judgment over matters of significance.

    3. Am I exempt as an administrative employee?

    To be exempt from overtime protections as an administrative employee, you must make twice the state minimum wage. (See question 1.) You must also be able to answer yes to both of the following requirements:

    • Are you regularly allowed to make independent decisions without direct supervision about matters that are important to the company (this means that the work you do is related to important company policy or business decisions)?
    • Do you spend more than half of your time on administrative tasks that are of substantial importance to management?

    In addition, you must be able to answer yes to one of the following questions:

    • Do you regularly and directly assist the owner of the company or another manager or administrator?
    • Do you perform work that requires special training, experience, or knowledge without direct supervision, or with only minimal supervision?

    Do you perform special assignments that require you to make decisions that affect the company with only general supervision?

    4. Am I exempt from overtime laws as a managerial or executive employee?

    To be exempt from overtime protections as a managerial or executive employee in California, you must make twice the state minimum wage. (See question 1.)

    You must also be able to answer yes to all of the following requirements:

    • Do you spend more than half of your time either managing a distinct department or subdivision of the company or doing “managerial” work (managerial work includes doing things like assigning work to other people, supervising work, evaluating other employees, planning work, determining techniques to be used in completing work, keeping records, handling complaints, and controlling the flow of merchandise or supplies)?
    • Are you regularly allowed to make independent decisions without direct supervision about matters that are important to the company (this means that the work you do is related to important company policy or business decisions)?
    • Do you directly supervise the work of two or more full-time employees? (Supervision of these employees must be part of your regular job duties, and not just something you do when the regular supervisor is not at work.)
    • Do you make recommendations about the hiring and firing of employees, and have enough authority within the company that your recommendations are given serious attention?

    If you answered no to any of these questions, you cannot be considered exempt as a managerial or executive employee.

    5. Am I entitled to overtime if I work for a family member?

    It depends. If you work directly for your spouse, parent, or child, you do not have the right to overtime. Other close relatives (e.g., uncles, aunts, and siblings) are fully protected by the law and are entitled to overtime.

    Importantly, if you work for a corporation or a limited liability company (an LLC) that is owned by your spouse, parent, or child, you are entitled to overtime protections, because you work for the company, not the individual.

    6. I am in a union. Am I entitled to overtime?

    Yes, but different rules apply. If you are a union member, overtime laws may apply somewhat differently because of language included in your collective bargaining agreement, which is sometimes called the “CBA.” If your collective bargaining agreement (1) provides for a premium wage (which can be anything above the regular rate of pay, even if less than time and a half), and (2) establishes a minimum wage for workers at your company that is at least 30 percent more than the state minimum wage, your employer may not have to pay you overtime for working over 8 hours a day. But the employer would still have to pay you overtime if you worked over 40 hours a week. If you have questions about overtime and you work in a unionized workplace, you can usually get advice from your union about how overtime works in your workplace.

    7. I am a farm laborer. Am I entitled to overtime?

    Yes, but different rules apply for agricultural workers performing work related to the cultivation of produce, livestock, and most other farm products, except cannabis. When performing these tasks, agricultural workers in California working at employers with 26 or more employees are not entitled to the same overtime rules as other employees until 2022. Agricultural workers in California working at employers with 25 or less employees are not entitled to the same overtime rules as other employees until 2025. Until then, overtime rules depend on the size of the employer that the worker is employed by.

    Year Overtime Rules for Employers with 25 or Less Employees Overtime Rules for Employers with 26 or More Employees
    2021 Overtime after 10 hours a day, or 60 hours in a week. Overtime after 8.5 hours a day, or 45 hours in a week.
    2022 Overtime after 9.5 hours a day, or 55 hours in a week. Regular overtime rules apply (overtime after 8 hours a day or 40 hours a week).
    2023 Overtime after 9 hours a day, or 50 hours in a week.
    2024 Overtime after 8.5 hours a day, or 45 hours in a week.

     

    Agricultural workers subject to these special rules are usually eligible for overtime for time spent working on the seventh consecutive day of a single workweek, and double time for any work after the eighth hour of work on the seventh consecutive day of a single workweek.

    Not all agricultural work is covered by these special rules. Regular overtime rules apply to many workers who distribute, pack, process, sort, and handle crops after those crops have been harvested. Also, workers who work in the Cannabis industry are not considered agricultural workers, and are entitled to overtime at normal rates.

    8. I am a domestic worker. Am I eligible for overtime?

    Domestic workers are entitled to overtime, but the rules covering overtime for domestic workers are complicated and depend on a number of factors, including whether the worker is a “personal attendant,” whether they work in a private household, and whether they live in the household.

    Domestic workers that do not live-in the household and are not personal attendants are entitled to overtime pay under the normal overtime rules (overtime after 8 hours a day or 40 hours a week).

    Other workers may only be eligible for overtime after working 45 hours a week, or 9 hours a day, depending on the factual circumstances. For more information, check out the California Domestic Workers’ Coalition and the Department of Labor Standards and Enforcement website.

    9. I am a truck driver. Am I eligible for overtime?

    Many truck drivers are exempt from state and federal overtime laws.  For example, truck drivers that are regulated by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) are exempt from California overtime laws, as well as California laws governing meal and rest breaks. A driver is regulated by the FMCSA if they are involved with interstate commerce AND fit in one or more of the following categories:

    • Drive a vehicle that weighs 10,001 pounds or more
    • Drive a vehicle that is designed to transport 9-15 passengers for compensation
    • Drive a vehicle that is designed to transport 16 or more passengers
    • Drive a vehicle used to transport hazardous materials

    Truck drivers that are regulated by California Highway Patrol (CHP) are also exempt from California Overtime Laws. Examples of the vehicles regulated by CHP include motortrucks, truck tractor, buses, tailors, and commercial motor vehicles that weigh more that 10,000 pounds.

    If you are a truck driver and want to know whether you might be protected by California overtime laws, seek legal advice.