报复:您应当了解的事情 受保护的工作场所权利

    什么是报复? 我受到保护的权利是什么?

    当雇主因为雇员行使了某项“受保护的合法权利”就对他(她)采取“不利行为时,报复就发生了。许多州法律和联邦法律都保护雇员不受到雇主的报复。

    受到保护的合法权利的一些例子包括:

    • 就您的工作场所权利寻求信息或法律咨询
    • 将您工作场所可能违反合法权利的情形通知任何人
    • 抱怨您本人或其他人有被拖欠薪水
    • 抱怨在工作中有受到骚扰或歧视性的对待
    • 与您的同事谈论您的薪水或工作场所的关切事项–比如说,组织工会的可能性
    • 提出工伤补偿的申请
    • 提出或参加向某政府机构的投诉,如美国平等就业机会委员会、加州劳工局长或公平就业及住房署、或其它的工作场所权利机构
    • 对您的雇主提起法律诉讼,或者为已经提起诉讼的同事提供支持
    • 检举(提醒政府机关您的雇主有非法行为)

    雇主是否有针对我报复? 什么是负面措施?

    如果雇主知道您有参加某项受保护的活动而后来针对您采取了“负面措施”,他(她)的行为就有可能带有了报复的目的。“负面措施”是指雇主所采取的任何对某人的雇佣条款及条件造成负面的以及重大影响的措施。

    负面措施的例子包括:

    • 终止、降职、或暂停工作
    • 骚扰及/或威胁
    • 不平等或不公平的纪律处罚
    • 降低薪水或工作时间
    • 拒绝雇用或拒绝升职
    • 对待那些不喜欢的雇员不如其他人好 — 例如在休假、请事假、请求在不同的轮班工作或不同的工作日工作方面
    • 重新核实您的工作授权,包括使用电子核实系统(E-Verify system), 而使用的核实的方式是联邦法所不允许的。
    • 将某人的缺乏移民身份一事报告或威胁说要报告给政府机关。
    • 任何其它会阻碍理性的人去寻求其自身权利的行为 – 如提出一项捏造的民事或刑事指控。

    报复可以在某个雇员行使一项受保护权利之后的任何时候发生,它不一定会立即发生。雇主采取的行动即使是几个星期以后、几个月以后、或者可能甚至几年以后,只要雇主采取的行动是因为雇员行使了某项合法权利而采取的,就可能是报复性的。

    雇主可以声称其采取的负面措施并不是报复性的,方法是提出某个合法的、非报复性的理由来解释为什么它采取了该措施。但雇员将会有机会去争辩说雇主提出的合法理由并非那项措施的真正动机。

    如果雇主有对我进行了报复我应当怎么办?

    如果您怀疑因为您行使了某项受保护的权利您的雇主就对您加以报复,您有几个选择。一般而言,如果现有正在进行的涉及到您的雇主违反您权利的诉讼案或政府的调查案,报复的指控可以附加到那个诉讼案或调查案上。例如,您可以请求将报复的指控附加在任何现有的控告您的雇主歧视您、或未能支付您最低薪水或加班费的案子上。如果没有已经开始的诉讼案或政府调查案,您可以针对您的雇主提出新的、独立的控告。

     

    如果您的雇主被判定有对您进行报复而违反了联邦法或州法,那么取决于您案子的事实可能会有几种救济可以备您选择。例如,您可能被判给任何因为此报复而损失的任何薪水收入(例如,如果您被暂停工作、开除、或者您的工作时间被削减)。如果雇主针对您的负面措施是将您开除,您可能会被恢复原来的职位。而且,所有提及到此负面措施的文字都会从您的个人档案中删除,可能在您的工作场所要张贴一张给所有员工的通知,或者您的雇主会被要求采取措施去确保在未来不会再次报复。

    在加州我应当在什么地方提出报复投诉?

    如果您因为就您是否被支付了合法薪水而做出任何咨询或投诉而遭到了报复,您可以向加州劳工标准执行署(简称DLSE或“劳工局”)[1] 提出针对您雇主的报复投诉.  劳工局的投诉程序通常对那些没有钱请私人律师的员工而言会比较简单。DLSE的投诉表格可以在以下网站上找到www.dir.ca.gov/dlse/Forms/RetaliationAndDiscrimination/DLSEFormRCI-1.pdf如果您选择向DLSE提出投诉,您必须在针对您的报复行为发生之后的180天(六个月)之内提出。DLS.DLSE会进行调查并在收到您投诉的六十天之内做出裁决。如果DLSE判定您的雇主有对您进行非法报复,那么处罚可能会包括暂停您雇主的营业执照及/或罚款。

    如果您因为抱怨工作场所的歧视而遭到报复 –就是说,如果您或其他人投诉说因为自己的种族、性别、性别认同/表达、原始国籍、肤色、宗教、残疾、年龄(40 或以上)、军人/退伍军人身份、或怀孕状况而受到比其他雇员更加糟糕的对待  – 您可以向平等就业机会委员会(“EEOC”)或者是加州公平就业及住房署(“DFEH”)提出投诉。如果歧视是基于性导向或婚姻状况的歧视,您可以向DFEH提起投诉。您可以在以下网站http://www.eeoc.gov/employees/howtofile.cfm看到列出的向EEOC提出投诉的不同的方法。要得到如何向DFEH投诉的不同方法的清单,请参看他们的网站 http://www.dfeh.ca.gov/Complaints_ComplaintProcess.htm。  如果您要向EEOC投诉,从报复发生之日开始您有300天的期限去提出您的投诉。但如果您要向DFEH投诉的话,您有一年的期限去做这件事情。

    如果您因为抱怨工作场所的健康状况或安全状况而遭到报复, 您也可以向联邦安全及健康管理局(“OSHA”)提起投诉。OSHA的投诉表格可以在以下网站找到https://www.osha.gov/whistleblower/WBComplaint.html。您也可以给OSHA的区域办事处打电话或写信,这些办事处都列在以下的网站 https://www.osha.gov/html/RAmap.html一般而言,从您雇主对您的报复行为开始算您有30天的时间可以向OSHA提起投诉。但是,这段投诉期限有可能会更长,取决于您所报告的是违反什么样的OSHA规定。欲获得更多这方面的信息,请参阅OSHA的有关检举人保护(Whitleblower Protection)的网站https://www.osha.gov/OshDoc/data_General_Facts/whistleblower_rights.pdf.

    如果您向加州的安全及健康管理局(“Cal/Osha”)提出了健康或安全的投诉并因而遭到了报复,那么您也可以向DLSE提出投诉。重复一遍,DLSE的投诉表格可以在下列网站上找到www.dir.ca.gov/dlse/Forms/RetaliationAndDiscrimination/DLSEFormRCI-1.pdf如果您选择向DLSE提起投诉,您必须在针对您的报复行为发生的180天(6个月)之内提起投诉。

    如果您因为提交了工伤补偿申请而遭到报复,您可以根据《加州劳工法》第132条向加州工伤补偿上诉委员会(“WCAB”)提出报复投诉。根据《加州劳工法》第132条提出报复投诉的表格可以在以下网站找到http://www.dir.ca.gov/dwc/iwguides/IWGuide07.pdf. 如果您选择向WCAB提出投诉,你必须在针对您的报复行为发生的一年以内提出此投诉。

    [1] 《加州劳工法》 § 244(a); 1102.5.

DISCLAIMER

这份文件试图为大家提供准确、简明的有关就业方面的加州法律常识。不过,由於法律以及法律程序时有变化以及解释不同,劳工法律中心不能保证文件的内容是最新的,也不能为内容被运用的结果负责。读者不应完全依赖这里提供的资料,你应该就个人的特殊情况,向律师或者有关机构查询。
© 2019 Legal Aid at Work. All rights reserved
Legal Aid at Work, 180 Montgomery Street, Suite 600, San Francisco CA 94104 / 415-864-8848

Retaliation: Things You Should Know About Protected Workplace Rights

    What is retaliation? What are my protected rights?

    Retaliation occurs when an employer takes an “adverse action” against an employee because s/he has exercised a “protected legal right.”  Many state and federal laws protect employees from employer retaliation.

    Examples of protected legal rights include:

    • Seeking information or legal advice on your workplace rights
    • Notifying anyone about a possible violation of legal rights in your workplace
    • Complaining that you or someone else is owed unpaid wages
    • Complaining about harassment or discriminatory treatment on the job
    • Complaining about unsafe working conditions
    • Talking with your co-workers about your wages or workplace concerns — for instance, the possibility of unionizing
    • Filing a workers’ compensation claim
    • Filing or participating in a complaint with a governmental agency, such as the U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission, the California Labor Commissioner or Department of Fair Employment and Housing, or other workplace rights agency
    • Filing a lawsuit against your employer, or supporting co-workers who have filed a lawsuit
    • Whistleblowing (alerting governmental agencies about your employer’s unlawful practices)

    Has my employer retaliated against me? What is an adverse action?

    If your employer knows you have engaged in a protected activity and later takes an “adverse action” against you, s/he may have acted with a retaliatory purpose.  An “adverse action” is any act by an employer that negatively and significantly affects the terms and conditions of one’s employment.

    Examples of adverse actions include:

    • Termination, demotion, or suspension
    • Harassment and/or threats
    • Unequal or unfair discipline
    • Reduction in pay or hours
    • Refusal to hire or promote
    • Treating disfavored employees less well than others — for example, with respect to vacation, leaves of absence, or requests for different shifts or working days
    • Reverifying your employment authorization, including by using the E-Verify system, in a manner not permitted by federal law
    • Reporting or threatening to report someone’s lack of immigration status to a government agency
    • Any other action that would discourage a reasonable person from pursuing her rights — for instance, filing a fabricated civil or criminal charge

    Retaliation can occur at any time after an employee exercises a protected right, and does not have to take place immediately.  An action taken by an employer can be retaliatory even if it occurs weeks, months, or possibly even years later, so long as the employer took the action because the employee exercised a legal right.

    An employer can claim that the adverse action was not retaliatory by offering a lawful, non-retaliatory reason for why it took the action.  The employee, however, will have the opportunity to argue that the lawful reason offered by the employer was not the true motivation for the action.

     

    What should I do if my employer has retaliated against me?

    If you suspect that your employer has retaliated against you because you exercised a protected legal right, you have a number of options.  In general, if there is an on-going lawsuit or government investigation involving your employer’s violations of your rights, a retaliation claim can be added to that lawsuit or investigation.  For instance, you can ask that a retaliation claim be added to any existing complaints that your employer discriminated against you, or failed to pay you the minimum wage or for overtime.  If there is no lawsuit or government investigation that has already begun, you can also file a new, independent complaint of retaliation against your employer.

    If your employer is found to have retaliated against you in violation of federal or state law, different remedies may be available to you depending on the facts of your case.  For example, you may be awarded payment for any wages you lost because of the retaliation (e.g., if you were suspended, fired, or your hours were cut).  If the employer took adverse action against you by firing you, you may be reinstated to your former position.  In addition, all references to the adverse action may be deleted from your personnel file, a notice to all employees could be posted in the workplace, or the employer might be required to take steps to ensure it will not retaliate in the future.

    Where should I file a retaliation claim if I live in California?

    If you have been retaliated against for making any kind of inquiry or complaint about whether you have been paid your lawful wages, you may file a retaliation claim against your employer with the California Division of Labor Standards Enforcement (DLSE, or “Labor Commissioner”).[1]  The Labor Commissioner’s process is often easier for workers who cannot afford a private attorney.   The DLSE’s complaint form is available at www.dir.ca.gov  If you choose to file with DLSE, you must do so within 180 days (6 months) of the retaliatory act taken against you.  DLSE will investigate and issue a decision within sixty days of receiving your complaint.  If DLSE finds that your employer has unlawfully retaliated against you, penalties may include suspension of the employer’s business license and/or a fine.

    If you have been retaliated against for complaining about discrimination in the workplace — that is, if you or others complained about being treated worse than other employees because of their race, sex, gender identity/expression, national origin, color, religion, disability, age (40 or older), military/veteran status, or pregnancy status  – you may file a retaliation complaint with either the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (“EEOC”) or the California Department of Fair Employment and Housing (“DFEH”).  If the discrimination was on the basis of sexual orientation, , marital status,, you may file a retaliation claim with DFEH.  For a list of ways to file with the EEOC, visit their website at http://www.eeoc.gov/employees/howtofile.cfm.  For a list of ways to file with the DFEH, visit their website at http://www.dfeh.ca.gov/Complaints_ComplaintProcess.htm.  If you are filing with the EEOC, you have 300 days from the date of the retaliation to file your complaint.  If you are filing with the DFEH, however, you have one year in which to do so.

    If you were retaliated against because you complained about health or safety conditions at the workplace, you may also file a claim with the federal Office of Safety and Health Administration (“OSHA”).  A claim form with OSHA is available at https://www.osha.gov/whistleblower/WBComplaint.html. You can also call or send a letter to your OSHA Regional office, which are listed here https://www.osha.gov/html/RAmap.html.   In general, you have 30 days from your employer’s retaliatory act to file a claim with OSHA.  However, this time period may be longer depending upon the OSHA violation you report has been violated.  For more information, visit OSHA’s website about Whistleblower Protections, which is available at https://www.osha.gov/OshDoc/data_General_Facts/whistleblower_rights.pdf. If you filed a health or safety complaint with California’s Office of Safety and Health Administration (“Cal/OSHA”) and were retaliated against, you may also file a claim with the DLSE.  Again, the DLSE complaint form is available at  www.dir.ca.govIf you choose to file with DLSE, you must do so within 180 days (6 months) of the retaliatory act taken against you.

    If you were retaliated against because you filed a workers’ compensation claim, you may file a retaliation claim with the California Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board (“WCAB”) under Cal. Labor Code § 132a.  The form for filing a retaliation claim under Cal. Labor Code § 132a is available at http://www.dir.ca.gov/dwc/iwguides/IWGuide07.pdf.  If you choose to file with WCAB, you must do so within one year of the retaliatory act taken against you.

DISCLAIMER

This Fact Sheet is intended to provide accurate, general information regarding legal rights relating to employment in California. Yet because laws and legal procedures are subject to frequent change and differing interpretations, the Legal Aid Society–Employment Law Center cannot ensure the information in this Fact Sheet is current nor be responsible for any use to which it is put. Do not rely on this information without consulting an attorney or the appropriate agency about your rights in your particular situation.