工作场所临检:我在工作场所的权利

本文的目的是提供有关“工作场所临检workplace raids”的资讯——包括遇到这类临检时你的权利,以及如何应付临检的方法。我们也会简述临检是如何进行的。请记住,工作场所临检时所有人都有他们的权利,不管他们的移民身份如何。

    什么是 ICE?

    移民与海关执法局 (ICE) 是执行移民法的一个联邦政府机构。作为执法行动的一部分,它可以启动递解出境的程序。ICE 采用多种方法来识别、调查和逮捕可能需要递解出境的人士,其中包括在工作场所进行临检。

    什么是“工作场所临检”?

    “工作场所临检”指的是 ICE 执法人员到工作场所来盘问工作者,并拘留那些他们认为在美国非法居留的人士。工作场所临检可以作为一项现有调查的一部分而针对特定的工作者,或是盘问在场的所有工作者。这些临检活动给雇员、特别是无证工作者带来恐惧和惊慌。

    应该记住,在工作场所临检中,每个人都有一定的权利,无论他们的移民身份是什么。

    ICE 如何进入一个工作场所?

    ICE 执法人员采用多种方法进入工作场所。有时候,他们未作通知就出现在一个工作场所;有时候,他们会事先通知雇主。有时, ICE 可能会携带法官签字的令状;有时,他们会强行闯入。ICE 有时也会撒谎而试图进入一个工作场所——执法人员可能假装是当地警方,或者声称要找某一位人士,接下来却盘问所有的工作者。

    1月1日后,加州法律将禁止任何人自愿同意让 ICE 人员在没有司法搜索令状的情况下进入工作场所。2018年7月1日开始,加州法律将要求雇主通知雇员即将来临的联邦文件检阅,同时,法律也禁止那些联邦法律没有要求的文件再确证。

    什么是“工作场所稽查workplace audit”以及它与临检有什么不同?

    ICE 也可能进行工作场所稽查,要求雇主证明其所有的雇员都有在美国工作的许可。在稽查过程中,雇主必须向 ICE 提供每位雇员的 I-9 表格 (即每位雇员应该在雇用开始时填写的一个表格)。

    与临检不同, ICE 在进行稽查时不一定会派人前来工作场所。不过,作为稽查行动的一部分,ICE 有时也会到工作场所进行调查。ICE 应该在进行稽查之前向雇主提供一个“检查通知”的表格,但是他们有时未作通知就出现在工作场所。

    在川普任期内工作场所临检发生了什么改变?

    在布什任期以及欧巴马任期的早期,工作场所临检是常见的,近些年来则没有那么常见。川普政府表示将增加工作场所临检。自从川普就任以来,ICE 已经开始在私人住宅、工作场所、甚至法院大楼展开临检和实施逮捕。

    欧巴马政府声称他们的工作重点是递解被判犯下严重罪行的人士,意味着很多无证人士不被认为是递解出境的“优先选择”。川普政府改变了这些优先次序,现在任何无证人士均可被认为是“可递解的”。

    在工作场所临检中我的权利是什么?

    • 您有权说您想咨询一名律师。
      • 政府不为处于移民程序中的人士提供律师,但是您有权聘请私人律师或非牟利律师。
    • 您有权保持沉默。
      • 您有权拒绝回答 ICE 向您提出的问题,而您所说的话都可以作出对您不利的利用。特别地,您不应该回答关于您的出生国家、如何来到美国、以及移民身份的提问。
    • 您有权拒绝 ICE 执法人员和其他政府人员的非法搜查。
      • ICE 执法人员需要合理理由、甚至法庭令状才能搜查您的人身、个人物品、车辆、甚至工作场所的私人区域 (例如雇员更衣柜) 。
    • 您有权拒绝签署 ICE 要您签的任何文件。
      • ICE 可能要您或试图强迫您签署文件。您有权拒绝签署文件,而且在有机会与律师一起阅读文件并让律师帮助您理解文件内容以及签署后果之前,您不应该签署任何文件。
    • 在大多数情况下,您有权在移民法官面前为您的案子申辩。
      • 注意:如果您被判犯下某些罪行,或者有一个之前的递解命令,您可能没有在法官面前申辩的权利。

    在工作场所临检期间我应该怎么做?

    • 表明您希望保持沉默
    • 表明您希望咨询一名律师
    • 把这张卡片递给 ICE 执法人员:
    • (卡片可以在这里取得) 向社区热线报告该次临检。
      • 在旧金山,请致电 SFILEN – 415.200.1548。
      • 在阿拉米达郡,请致电 ACILEP – 510.241.4011。
      • 您也可以致电“United We Dream hotline”(我们一起梦想) 全美热线 – 844-363-1423。

    在工作场所临检期间不应该做什么事情?

    • 不要回答任何问题
    • 不要在咨询律师之前签署任何东西
    • 不要撒谎 (您可以保持沉默;如果您选择回答问题 (我们不建议),则诚实地回答)
    • 不要向 ICE 执法人员提供虚假文件
    • 不要试图跑开或逃脱

    我可以做什么来为工作场所临检作准备?

     

     

    • 了解把什么带到工作场所,把什么留在家中:
    • 随身携带一张“Know Your Rights”(了解您的权利) 卡片,准备好递给移民官员。
    • 不要携带任何虚假文件或外国身份文件 (例如墨西哥领事身份证或“Matrícula”)。
    • 携带一旦被移民官员逮捕、您可以联络的移民律师或权益组织的名称和电话号码。(最好把号码记在脑子里。)
      • 注意:如果您已经有律师代表,您应该携带多份已签名的 G-28 表格的副本 (即“律师代表通知Notice of Entry of Appearance as Attorney”)。

     

    • 如果您有孩子,作出一个儿童照顾计划:
      • 与您的家人讨论您不在时由谁照顾您的孩子。
      • 与将要照顾您的孩子的人作出计划。确保他们了解所有必需的信息,包括紧急联络人信息以及关于孩子医疗需要的信息。
      • 考虑是否要制作一份表格或文件,授权一名成年人照顾您的孩子。
    • 要了解不同选项的例子,请参见:
      • 确认向您孩子的学校更新获授权接送孩子的人士的名单,其中包括您不在时照顾您的孩子的人士。

       

      • 建立一个与亲人沟通的计划:
        • 作好计划,确定在发生临检或您被拘留时您或家人应该联络谁。
        • 告诉家人如果您被 ICE 逮捕,如何找到您。
          • 家人可以使用 ICE 被拘留人搜索器来寻找被 ICE 拘押的人: https://locator.ice.gov/odls/homePage.do
          • 如果您有一个“A 号码A-number”,确保您的家人知道它。ICE 用 A 号码在系统内追踪您。

       

      • 建立一个重要文件的档案,保存在家中安全的地方;如果您被逮捕,您的亲友可以找到它:
        • 这个档案应该包括:身份文件、出生证、您的 A 号码 (移民登记号码) 及移民文件 (如有)、以及紧急联络信息。
        • 这里是一个由移民法律资源中心提供的单子,列明其他应该包括在内的重要文件: https://www.ilrc.org/sites/default/files/resources/family_preparedness_plan_v3-20170323.pdf

       

      • 了解您的权利!熟悉哪些社区团体和组织 (例如非牟利机构和工会) 支持无证工作者或提供“了解您的权利”培训。
        • 要了解在湾区的这类组织,请参见:

    作为无证工作者我有什么权利?

    在加州,无证工作者与所有其他工作者在雇用法下拥有几乎一样的权利。根据法律,雇主不得以原国籍的理由歧视工作者,这包括您的族裔、口音或语言。雇主也不得因为工作者行使权利而进行报复。换而言之,如果工作者举报或投诉歧视、工资克扣、安全问题或其他工作场所违规,雇主不得进行报复,包括打电话或威胁打电话给 ICE。如果雇主威胁打电话给 ICE 以报复工作者,则可能被起诉刑事敲诈。

    当您开始一份新工作时,您的雇主会要您填写一份“I-9”表格,这是联邦政府用来核实您的身份和工作许可的表格。在您填写 “I-9”表格时,雇主也会要您提供某些身份文件。雇主不得拒绝那些看起来有效的文件,或者坚持索取“I-9”表格规定以外的文件。雇主不得只要求他们认为是“外国人”的雇员提供某些文件,例如绿卡。雇员也可以从“I-9”表格的“可接受文件清单”中选择提供哪些文件。

    在填写“I-9”表格和提供必需的身份文件之后,您的雇主一般来说不得再次询问您的工作许可或移民身份。雇主只能在某些特别情况下要求“再核实”您的情况 (或要求您提供工作许可的证明):ICE 正在稽查您的雇主、您的工作许可过期、或者雇主正在再核实所有工作者的文件。换而言之,雇主不得只要求某些工作者再核实身份,而且不得常规性地询问工作者的移民身份。

     

    要了解更多信息,请参见我们关于无证工作者权益以及文件核实和再核实的事实说明书:

    作为无证工作者我有什么权利?

    在加州,无证工作者与所有其他工作者在雇用法下拥有几乎一样的权利。根据法律,雇主不得以原国籍的理由歧视工作者,这包括您的族裔、口音或语言。雇主也不得因为工作者行使权利而进行报复。换而言之,如果工作者举报或投诉歧视、工资克扣、安全问题或其他工作场所违规,雇主不得进行报复,包括打电话或威胁打电话给 ICE。如果雇主威胁打电话给 ICE 以报复工作者,则可能被起诉刑事敲诈。

    当您开始一份新工作时,您的雇主会要您填写一份“I-9”表格,这是联邦政府用来核实您的身份和工作许可的表格。在您填写 “I-9”表格时,雇主也会要您提供某些身份文件。雇主不得拒绝那些看起来有效的文件,或者坚持索取“I-9”表格规定以外的文件。雇主不得只要求他们认为是“外国人”的雇员提供某些文件,例如绿卡。雇员也可以从“I-9”表格的“可接受文件清单”中选择提供哪些文件。

    在填写“I-9”表格和提供必需的身份文件之后,您的雇主一般来说不得再次询问您的工作许可或移民身份。雇主只能在某些特别情况下要求“再核实”您的情况 (或要求您提供工作许可的证明):ICE 正在稽查您的雇主、您的工作许可过期、或者雇主正在再核实所有工作者的文件。换而言之,雇主不得只要求某些工作者再核实身份,而且不得常规性地询问工作者的移民身份。

    要了解更多信息,请参见我们关于无证工作者权益以及文件核实和再核实的事实说明书:

    • 无证工人的雇佣权利:https://legalaidatwork.org/factsheet/undocumented-workers-employment-rights/
    • 文件滥用:向雇主提供工作身份证明时应该注意的事情:https://legalaidatwork.org/factsheet/document-abuse-identification-documents-at-workthings-you-should-know-about-proving-your-work-status-to-your-employer/

    其他资源:

免责声明

本事实說明书目的是提供有关加州就业法律权利准确的、一般性的资讯。但是因为法律及法律程序会時有变化以及不同的解释,Legal Aid at Work劳工法律中心不能夠确保这份事实说明书包含最新的讯息,也不会对其使用负任何责任。请不要仅仅依赖这些讯息,你应该就你的特定情況去咨询律师以及适当机构。

Workplace Raids: Workers’ Rights

This fact sheet offers information on workplace raids — including your rights during a raid — plus tips on how to prepare for a raid at your workplace. It also describes how raids are conducted. Remember that everyone has rights during a workplace raid — regardless of their immigration status.

    What is ICE?

    Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE) is a federal government agency that enforces immigration laws in the United States. As part of this enforcement, it can initiate deportation proceedings. ICE uses a number of tactics to identify, investigate, and arrest people for possible deportation, including workplace raids.

    What is a workplace raid?

    A “workplace raid” is when ICE agents come to a workplace to question workers and detain those it believes are in the U.S. unlawfully. Workplace raids can be used to target specific workers as part of an ongoing investigation, or to question all workers who are present. These raids cause fear and panic for employees, particularly those workers who are undocumented.

    It’s important to remember that everyone has rights during a workplace raid —regardless of their immigration status.

    How does ICE get into a workplace?

    ICE agents use a number of strategies to enter a workplace. Sometimes they show up unannounced; other times they ask the employer beforehand. Sometimes ICE may come with a warrant signed by a judge; other times they may force their way in. ICE will also sometimes lie to try to get into a workplace—agents will pretend that they are local police officers, or say that they are looking for a specific person and then question all workers.

    After Jan. 1, 2018, California law will prohibit anyone from giving agents voluntary consent to enter nonpublic areas of a workplace without a judicial search warrant. And, starting on July 1, 2018, state law will require employers to notify employees about upcoming federal document inspections, and it will prohibit any document reverification that is not required by federal law.

    What is a workplace audit, and how is it different from a raid?

    ICE may also conduct a workplace “audit” by requiring an employer to prove that all of its employees are authorized to work in the United States. In this audit, the employer must provide ICE with each employee’s Form I-9 (which is supposed to be filled out by every employee at the beginning of employment).

    Unlike when it conducts a raid, ICE does not always physically come to a workplace to conduct an audit. Sometimes, however, ICE will come to the workplace to investigate as part of an audit. ICE is supposed to provide the employer a form called a “Notice of Inspection” before conducting an audit, but it sometimes shows up at workplaces unannounced.

    How have workplace raids changed under the Trump Administration?

    Workplace raids were common under the Bush administration and in the early years of the Obama presidency, but they became less common in recent years. The Trump administration has said that it will increase workplace enforcement. ICE already has been conducting raids and making arrests at people’s homes and places of work, and even at courthouses.

    The Obama administration claimed that it focused on deporting people with serious criminal convictions, which meant that many undocumented people were not considered “priorities” for deportation. The Trump administration changed these priorities, and now any undocumented person could be considered “deportable.”

    What are my rights during a workplace raid?

    • You have the right to say that you want to speak to an attorney.

    The government does not provide attorneys to people in immigration proceedings, but you have the right to hire a private attorney or nonprofit lawyer.

    • You have the right to remain silent.

    You do not have to answer questions that ICE asks you, and anything you do say can be used against you. In particular, you should not answer questions about your country of birth, how you came to the United States, or your immigration status.

    • You have the right against unlawful searches by ICE agents and other government officials.

    ICE agents need a legitimate reason and sometimes a warrant to search you, your personal belongings, your car, and sometimes private work areas (such as employee lockers).

    • You have the right to refuse to sign any documents ICE asks you to sign.

    ICE might ask you or try to force you to sign documents. You have the right to refuse to sign documents and you should not sign any documents until after you have had the opportunity to review these documents with a lawyer who can help you understand the document and the consequences of signing it.

    • Under most circumstances, you have the right to argue your case before an immigration judge.

    Note: You may not have the right to appear before a judge if you have certain criminal convictions or a prior removal order.

    What should I do during a workplace raid?

    • Say that you wish to remain silent
    • Say that you’d like to speak to an attorney
    • Hand the ICE agent this card:

     

     

    (Get pre-printed cards here.)  

    • Report the raid to a community hotline.
      • In San Francisco, call SFILEN at 415.200.1548
      • In Alameda County, call ACILEP at 510.241.4011.
      • Or call the national United We Dream hotline at 844-363-1423.

    What should I NOT do during a workplace raid?

    • Do not answer any questions
    • Do not sign anything before consulting with an attorney
    • Do not lie (remain silent;  if you choose to answer questions (not advised), do so truthfully)
    • Do not give the ICE agent(s) false documents
    • Do not flee or run

    How can I prepare for a workplace raid?

    1. Consult with an immigration attorney to assess your options. Check these websites to find immigration attorneys near you:
    2. Know what to bring to work and what to leave behind:
    3. Carry a Know Your Rights card with you to show to immigration officials.
    4. DO NOT carry any false documents or foreign identity documents (such as a Mexican Consular Identification Card or “Matrícula”).
    5. Carry the name and telephone number of an immigration attorney or organization that you can contact in case you are arrested by immigration officers. (Memorize the number if you are able.)
      • Note: If you are already represented by an attorney, you should carry multiple signed copies of the G-28 form (“Notice of Entry of Appearance as Attorney”).
    6. Know your rights! Become familiar with community groups and organizations, such as nonprofits and unions, that support undocumented workers or offer Know Your Rights trainings.
      • For Bay Area organizations, see:

    How can I help prepare my family and friends in case I am arrested?

    If you have children, create a childcare plan:

    • Have a discussion with your family about who would care for your children in your absence.
    • Make a plan with the person who would care for your children. Make sure that they have all necessary information, including emergency contact information and information about your child’s medical needs.
    • Consider whether you’d like to prepare a form or document that authorizes another adult to care for your children. For examples of different options, see Immigrant Legal Resource Center’s “Family Preparedness Plan”
    • Make sure that your children’s schools have an updated list of people authorized to pick up your children, including the person who would care for your children in your absence.

    Create a plan for communicating with your loved ones:

    • Make a plan for who you or your family members would contact in the event of a raid or if you were detained.
    • Tell your family members how to find you if you are arrested by ICE.
      • Family members can use the ICE detainee locator to find individuals in ICE custody
      • If you have an “A-number,” make sure your family members know it. The A-number is how ICE keeps track of you in its system.

    Create a file of important documents and keep it in a safe place in your home, where your friends and family can access it if you are arrested:

    • This file should include: identity documents, birth certificates, your A-number (alien registration number) and immigration documents if you have them, and emergency contact information.
    • Here is a list of other important documents to include, from Immigrant Legal Resource Center.

    What are my rights as an undocumented worker?

    In California, undocumented workers essentially have the same employment rights as all other workers.

    It is illegal for an employer to discriminate against a worker based on her national origin, including her ancestry, her accent, or the language that she speaks. It is also illegal for an employer to retaliate against a worker for exercising her rights. In other words, if a worker reports or complains about discrimination, wage theft, safety issues, or other workplace violations, it is unlawful for her employer to take actions against her, including calling or threatening to call ICE. Employers who retaliate against their workers by threatening to call ICE could also be charged with criminal extortion.

    When you start a new job, your employer will ask you to fill out a Form I-9, which the federal government uses to verify your identity and work authorization. When you fill out the Form I-9, your employer will also ask you to provide certain identity documents. Employers are prohibited from rejecting documents that appear valid, or insisting on additional documents beyond what is required by the Form I-9. An employer cannot require employees it thinks are “foreign” to produce certain documents, such as a green card. Employees are also allowed to choose which documents they provide from the Form I-9 Lists of Acceptable Documents.

    Once you fill out the I-9 and provide the required identity documents, your employer is generally not allowed to ask you again about work authorization or immigration status. Employers can only ask to “re-verify” you (or ask you for proof of your work authorization) under certain specific circumstances: if ICE audits your employer, if your work authorization expires, or if the employer is re-verifying every worker’s documentation. In other words, an employer cannot ask only certain workers to re-verify, and cannot routinely ask workers about immigration status.

    For more information, please see our fact sheets on the rights of undocumented workers and on document abuse and reverification:

    Additional Resources

DISCLAIMER

This Fact Sheet is intended to provide accurate, general information regarding legal rights relating to employment in California. Yet because laws and legal procedures are subject to frequent change and differing interpretations, Legal Aid at Work cannot ensure the information in this Fact Sheet is current nor be responsible for any use to which it is put. Do not rely on this information without consulting an attorney or the appropriate agency about your rights in your particular situation.